Are Grits Gluten Free. Ingredients and More

  • A versatile side-dish, grits combine deliciously with a wide variety of foods: ham, shrimps, bacon, eggs, meat, fish, vegetables, etc. 
  • Since they are made from corn, grits are naturally gluten free and can be safely consumed by people on a gluten free diet.
  • It is not uncommon for manufacturers to use the same processing equipment for both gluten-free and gluten-containing grains, thus increasing the chances of cross-contamination.
  • If you are celiac or suffer from gluten-intolerance, it is advisable to opt for grits labelled as gluten-free.

Are grits gluten free? We already talked about similar products on this site, but this time we want to give specific info on grits as a stand alone product. If you’re like me, you love corn, and corn is a gluten free person best friend.

A traditional dish in the American Southern cuisine, grits have slowly evolved from a humble breakfast to an exquisite shrimp and grits entrée that can be enjoyed in the finest restaurants.

Since they are made from corn, grits are naturally gluten-free and can be safely consumed by people on a gluten-free diet.

However, since cross-contamination may occur during processing, celiac and gluten-sensitive people should opt for brands whose products are clearly labeled as gluten-free. 

Are grits gluten grits – What are grits

The history of grits goes back to the Native Americans who were consuming a dish made from mashed corn.

Nowadays, grits are made from dent corn, a less sweet and starchy corn variety that undergoes an alkali treatment to remove the hard hull. The obtained grain is commonly known as hominy. 

Related: Is Polenta gluten free | Is Crisco gluten free

Cooking grits is fairly simple: they need to be boiled and may be combined with milk, butter, or cheese to enhance flavor.

Depending on the type of grits you are choosing – instant, fast-cooking, or coarse – the cooking time ranges from 10 minutes to 45 minutes and it requires regular stirring. 

Read More:  Is Heineken Gluten Free - Info, Other Brands and More

Grits ingredients

Grits are traditionally cooked using water and salt. However, to enhance flavor, other ingredients may be added (e.g. butter, milk, cheese, flavorings). Grits can be consumed boiled, fried, or baked and can be combined with a wide range of foods. 

Known brands for gluten free grits

Bob’s Red Mill 

Bob’s Red Mill offers a wide range of high-quality gluten free products (flours, mixes, cereals, grits, etc.).

You can check out all the products here. As stated on their website, their Gluten Free Corn Grits/Polenta is produced in their dedicated gluten-free facility.

Nutritional information and recipes:

Arrowhead Mills

Dedicated to supporting a nutritious gluten free lifestyle, Arrowhead Mills periodically runs rigorous tests to ensure that all their gluten free products meet the required standards and can be safely consumed by celiac and gluten-intolerant customers.

To ensure their customer’s safety and satisfaction, the company regularly updates its labels to ensure that the displayed information is always accurate.

You can check out all their gluten free products here

Palmetto Farms

Palmetto Farms specializes in corn grits and produces three varieties: stone-ground mixed, stone-ground white, and stone-ground yellow.

Their traditional grits have been tested for gluten and the obtained results showed below 5 parts per million, much below the 20 parts per million standards.

Their certified gluten free grits are produced in a wheat free facility.

You can check out all their products here.

Beware: The cheese mixed grits are not certified as gluten-free!

What to look out for

Even though corn is a naturally gluten-free grain, it is not uncommon for manufacturers to use the same processing equipment for both gluten free and gluten-containing grains, thus increasing the chances of cross-contamination.

If you are celiac or suffer from gluten-intolerance, it is advisable to opt for grits labelled as gluten-free.  

Since grits can also be made from other gluten-containing grains (e.g. barley), it is advisable to always check the labels carefully. 

Read More:  Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free - Product Info and Advice

If you are eating out and want to order grits, pay attention to the extra ingredients, especially gravies that might have been thickened with wheat flour. 

To sum up

A versatile side-dish, grits combine deliciously with a wide variety of foods: ham, shrimps, bacon, eggs, meat, fish, vegetables, etc. 

Usually made from corn, which is a naturally gluten-free grain, grits can be considered a safe dish when on a gluten free diet.

However, since cross-contamination is a matter of concern, celiac and gluten-intolerant people should always check labels carefully and opt for products that have been labeled as gluten free.

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Diana

Foodie at heart, ever since I discovered I had Celiac, I completely changed my diet and eating habits, I enjoy writing and reading about recipes and actually cooking for my family