Is Creme Brulee Gluten Free. Info and Brands Inside

  • Crème brûlée, also known as burned cream or crema catalana, is a delicious dessert that consists of a custard base topped with a crispy layer of caramelized sugar.
  • Usually, creme brulee is made with gluten-free ingredients: cream, eggs, vanilla, sugar, and water. 
  • If you are going to enjoy this dessert at a restaurant, make sure to ask for information on the used ingredients. Also, keep in mind that cross-contamination may occur during cooking.
  • Some manufacturers may add gluten-containing ingredients to their recipes. So make sure to always check labels carefully.

Is Creme Brulee gluten free? Maybe the most popular desert in the world, eaten by so many people it’s not a surprise that many people who have celiac wonder if they can safely consume it or not. In this article, you will get your answer.

Delicious and creamy, crème brûlée is a classical dessert that is definitely worth adding to your ‘Best Desserts’ list.  

Usually, creme brulee is made with gluten free ingredients:

  1. Cream
  2. Eggs
  3. Vanilla
  4. Sugar
  5. Water

However, some manufacturers may include gluten-containing ingredients in their recipes.

That means that checking labels carefully is always a good idea.  

Is Creme Brulee Gluten Free – What is creme brulee

is creme brulee gluten free
via eggs.ca

Crème brûlée, also known as burned cream or Crema Catalana, is a delicious dessert that consists of a custard base topped with a crispy layer of caramelized sugar.

The origin of crème brûlée is subject to a lot of controversies, with France, Spain, and England all claiming to be the country where this dessert originates.

However, the first printed recipe for crème brûlée dates back to 1691 and it was published in a French cookbook by Francois Massialot, who was a cook at the Palace of Versailles.

In French cuisine, the custard base usually has a vanilla flavor, while in Catalan cuisine, the custard base is usually flavored with lemon and cinnamon.

Related: Is Polenta gluten free | Is food coloring gluten free

Read More:  Are Haribo Gummy Bears Gluten Free? Info and Recipes

However, crème brûlée may have other flavorings (e.g. chocolate) and fruit may be added to enhance flavor. 

In Spain, crème brulee is known as Crema Catalana or flan. In Italy, it is called Cream Caramella, while in Britain it is known as Trinity Cream. However you call it, it is still delicious!

The traditional crème brûlée recipe contains cream, sugar, eggs, water, and vanilla, being considered safe to eat by celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers. 

What to look out for

As long as the crème brulee is made following the traditional recipe (i.e. cream, water, eggs, sugar, and vanilla), it is gluten free. 

However, some recipes contain additional ingredients that may contain gluten.  It is important to always check the label carefully.

 If you are going to enjoy this dessert at a restaurant, make sure to ask for information on the used ingredients. Also, keep in mind that cross-contamination may occur during cooking. 

If you want to play safe, you can make your own gluten free crème brulee. Just make sure you get all the necessary tools: ramekins and a kitchen blowtorch.

Known brands for gluten free crème brulee

Reina

Located in Spain, Reina offers a wide range of desserts. Apart from their gluten free Crema Catalana, Reina offers other gluten free desserts that you may check out here or here

Crema Catalana Ingredients:

• Egg

• Egg yolk

• Whole milk

• Skim milk

•Sugar

• Cream

• Caramelized sugar

• Flavorings

• Coloring

• Modified corn starch

Schär

is creme brulee gluten free
via apple

Schär offers you the possibility to make your own gluten free crème brulee using their Mix C – Mix Pâtisserie. If you want to give it a try, you can find the recipe here.

Mix C – Mix Pâtisserie is a white flour that contains:

• Rice flour

• Maize flour

• Maize starch

• Lentil flour

Read More:  Is Apple Cider Gluten Free?

• Locust bean gum

• Modified tapioca starch

Toscano

Toscano offers a wide range of gluten free products, including various gluten free desserts such as the Chocolate Melt in the Middle cookies or Crème Brulee.

Crème Brulee Ingredients:

• Eggs

• Cream (65%) (From Milk),

• Sugar

• Egg yolk

• Caramel Topping (4%) (Glucose Syrup, Sugar)

• Natural Vanilla Flavouring

May contain traces of: soy, peanuts, tree nuts

Macphie

Located in Scotland, Macaphie has been offering a wide range of quality products since 1920. You can find out more about their products here

Macphie Crème Brulee Ingredients:

• Water

• Sugar

• Skimmed Milk

• Milk Protein

• Vegetable Oil

• Egg yolk

• Modified starch

• Butter

• Stabiliser(Gellan gum E418)

• Salt

• Flavoring, Coloring

To sum up

Popular worldwide, creme brulee tempts fine desserts lovers with its velvety texture, creamy taste, and crunchy topping.

Though usually made from gluten-free ingredients and considered safe to consume by celiac and gluten-intolerant people, some manufacturers may add gluten-containing ingredients to their recipes.

So make sure to always check labels carefully for hidden sources of gluten. 

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.