Are Bush’s Beans Gluten free? Info and Safe Flavours List

  • Bush’s beans are most likely to be gluten free.
  • The company claims the beans to be free from wheat.
  • It is claimed that none of the eight major allergens as defined by the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA) have been used.
  • However, the company does not certify the gluten free factor.

Are Bush’s beans gluten free? Can you control yourself when it comes to baked beans with barbeque or as a side dish on the plate? Well, if you can not, then welcome to the club. Few can resist themselves while speaking of baked beans. 

However, one thing to mention here is that the recent concern of gluten has shaken up many people’s diets. Before getting their hands on any dish, they have to be careful about the gluten quality in it. And if you are on that side of the see-saw, then this article is for you!

Here, we will be speaking of a reputed brand of beans, that is, Bush’s beans, and we will try to find out the answer to the question of whether they contain gluten or not. 

Also, we will know some flavors of baked beans that are proven to be safe for your gluten free diet. 

So, hold tight!

Are Bush’s beans gluten-free? What are Bush’s baked beans?

Are Bush's beans gluten free?

Baked beans are quite popular among people all over the world. These are actually canned beans that are cooked with spices and other ingredients. Cooked or baked beans are quite famous among foodies across the countries. And to be honest, Bush’s beans is a reputed name when it comes to baked beans. 

The manufacturers, since their debut, have gathered a huge fan following. Their baked beans are cooked with salt, onion powder, garlic, and different spices. 

These beans are enjoyed with barbeque a lot. In particular, summer cookouts and outside grillings match the best with baked beans.

Ingredients of Bush’s Beans

Well, there are a lot of flavors of Bush’s beans. Different cans contain different ingredients. And also, all the ingredients are fresh and edible. Some of the common elements include:

  • water
  • salt
  • mustard
  • paprika
  • 2% cured bacon
  • corn starch
  • caramel color
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder
  • brown sugar
  • navy beans
  • spice
  • turmeric
  • vinegar
  • natural flavor

What is gluten?

The recent consciousness of gluten and a gluten-free diet has made many people restrictive when it comes to what they eat. For that reason, basic knowledge of gluten and its issues is required. 

Basically, gluten is a type of protein. Now, if you think gluten comes from animal protein, let me rectify you. It is majorly found in wheat and wheat-based products. In simple words, it is a sort of glue that holds wheat. Not only wheat, but it can be found in barley, rye, and many other grains.

Gluten has quite an adhesive nature that makes the dough sticky and elastic. 

Whole grains definitely contain gluten. Hence, gluten intolerant people are advised not to consume something made of whole grains. But that does not end the discussion.

If you are gluten intolerant and thinking of consuming processed food, well, you might not be happy every time. Some processed wheat or grain products do have gluten in them. Hence, knowing before eating is more than necessary. 


There are certain health conditions or diseases that can raise your concern about the gluten factor. Let us know about the disorders a bit more.

Celiac diseases

This is quite a common disease among people. 

It is a multi-organ immune system problem influencing the small intestine. This is caused by the ingestion of wheat, grain, rye, oats, and other derivative products. CD isn’t just a gastrointestinal sickness since it might include a few organs and cause a broad assortment of non-gastrointestinal indications, and above all, it could be asymptomatic.

Many asymptomatic intolerants become acclimated with living with a constant awful wellbeing status as though it were generally expected. Yet, they can perceive that they really had celiac illness after a gluten free diet when improvement happens.

Are beans gluten free?

Let us come to the crux of the discussion then. Plain beans are undoubtedly gluten-free. So that makes them edible for everyone.

Hence, if you are intolerant to gluten, then also you can take beans. Even if you take beans on a regular basis, there should not be any problem regarding intolerance. 

However, one thing should be remembered before consuming beans. Generally, beans are purchased from grocery stores. They can be found in supermarkets as well. Different brands produce beans. But before getting your hands on a can, make sure you get an idea about the ingredients used. If they contain gluten or some derivatives contain gluten, well, you are not supposed to eat that!

Are Bush’s beans gluten free?

Let us come to a final statement. We all know that Bush’s beans are quite a popular name among foodies. And to be honest, there is no debate about the popularity. That is just because of the reputation and product quality of the canned beans. All flavors of canned beans are gluten-free. The official website of Bush’s beans has certified this in their FAQ section. 

According to the website, the beans do not contain gliadin gluten, a type derived from wheat.

They quote,

“All Bush’s® canned bean products are gluten-free. We do use cornstarch in some of our products, but it does not contain gliadin gluten from wheat, barley, oats, or rye grains, which may cause adverse responses in people suffering from celiac sprue. In addition, the vinegar used in our canned bean products is corn-based and distilled.”

Hence, you may well understand that the manufacturers have not used any allergic element or gluten element in beans. 

Edible flavors of Bush’s beans

Since the official website of Bush’s beans has certified the gluten-free factor, we may conclude that all of their flavors are gluten-free. That means even if you have celiac disease or you are

just health-conscious and maintaining a gluten-free diet, you may enjoy Bush’s beans anywhere, anytime. 

Here’s a list of the flavors that you may consider:

Are Bush's beans gluten-free?
  1. Brown Sugar Baked Beans
  2. Barbecue Baked Beans
  3. Brown Sugar Hickory Baked Beans
  4. Boston Recipe Baked Beans
  5. Maple & Cured Bacon Baked Beans
  6. Country Style Baked Beans
  7. Onion Baked Beans
  8. Honey Sweet Baked Beans
  9. Original Baked Beans
  10. Homestyle Baked Beans
  11. Sweet Heat Baked Beans
  12. Organic Baked Beans
  13. Vegetarian Baked Beans etc. 


Final lines

Being conscious about the gluten content in food items is quite common these days. The recent hype about gluten sensitivity and intolerance has, in a way, boosted people to take this factor even seriously. 

In case you were skeptical about your favorite bean brand, then let us conclude here!

Bush’s beans are totally gluten-free. You are free to enjoy beans even if you have gluten intolerance. 

I hope you have gathered all the required information about gluten and the brand itself from this post. 

So, enjoy your beans comfortably!

More Posts for You: