Are Takis Gluten Free? Info and Alternatives

  • Takis is a brand name for rolled tortilla chips produced by Barcel.
  • Takis chips are made of corn and flavored with extremely hot spices.
  • Even though tortilla chips are naturally gluten free, Takis chips are not.
  • The brand gives a clear warning that the chips might contain gluten.

Can you handle the punch of real Mexican spiciness? Then Takis chips might be one of the best snacks to try – and get sweating! Takis, originally named Taquis, is a brand producing rolled corn tortilla chips that look like Mexican taquitos. So, since these are made using corn, are Takis chips gluten free and safe?

Takis chips are super-spicy, made of corn, a gluten free ingredient. However, the brand makes it a point to mention on the package that the product may contain gluten and other allergens. Even other snacks under Takis, from potato chips to popcorn, from nuts to corn snacks, come with the same warning.

Are Takis Gluten Free?

Are Takis Gluten Free?

Takis, a popular snack, is a favorite among those who love spicy food. It is a product by Barcel, which is a division of Grupo Bimbo. The product range includes various snacks, most of which contain corn, while the rest include nuts, potatoes, and more. Unfortunately, none of the Takis snacks are gluten free.

Most people would not think twice before picking up a packet of Takis snacks, especially the corn tortilla chips. After all, corn is a naturally gluten free ingredient! Many other snacks in this range have naturally gluten free ingredients as their base. But they aren’t safe for people with celiac disease or gluten allergy.

The products come in packages that clearly mention that the snacks are not gluten free. That is mainly because the tortilla chips and other snacks are made in facilities that process wheat and make other products that contain wheat. As a result, even the corn chips may end up with gluten content in them.

This might happen as a result of cross-contamination. It is also evident that the ingredients used in Takis are not tested for gluten content. The flavoring and coloring agents used in Takis have gluten content or end up with gluten as a result of cross-contamination. So Takis chips are not safe for celiac patients.

Even if you are not severely sensitive and do not fall sick upon consuming trace gluten, it is better to stay away from Takis chips. This extends to all the other products in the range, from potato chips, corn snacks, nuts, and popcorn. The reason behind this is the chance of cross-contamination in the facilities.

Are Takis Chips Safe for Everyone?

We have already understood that the Takis product range is unsafe for people with celiac disease or gluten allergy. That’s because cross-contamination is a clear possibility, as disclosed by the brand itself. But what about other health conditions or allergies, like soy allergy, nut allergy, dairy allergy, and more?

If you look at the warning message on the packets of Taki snacks, you’ll notice that it doesn’t just mention wheat. It also says that the facilities handle milk, eggs, and nuts. It also clearly mentions the presence of soy. All of these are allergens – and if you’re allergic to any of these, avoid Takis snacks.

Are Takis Gluten Free?

Ingredients of Takis tortilla chips include the following:

  1. Corn masa flour
  2. Lime
  3. Vegetable oil (palm/soybean/canola/rice bran oil)
  4. Salt
  5. Sugar
  6. Citric acid
  7. Maltodextrin
  8. Monosodium glutamate
  9. Onion powder
  10. Chili pepper
  11. Hydrolyzed soy protein
  12. Yeast extract
  13. Flavors (natural and artificial)
  14. Color (artificial)
  15. Disodium guanylate
  16. Disodium inosinate
  17. TBHQ (preservative)

Many of these ingredients contain allergens. So, allergens are present in Takis snacks in the form of ingredients and not just as a result of cross-contamination resulting from shared facilities for production and packaging. So, if you have any allergies, it is recommended that you avoid the Takis range of snacks.

But what if you don’t have allergies? Are Takis chips safe, then? As you may already know, Takis chips are incredibly spicy, as is evident from the flavor names like Angry Burger, Lava, and others. Clearly, it’s not your regular “spicy”. It’s the next level of Mexican heat for those who never compromise with chilies.

Are Takis Gluten Free?

However, the downside is that there are many health problems that can be associated with Takis because of this. While claims associating Takis with cancer and ulcers are false, Takis can lead to stomach ailments, including gastritis. To avoid them, you should consume Takis in moderate amounts only.

Are Takis chips vegan or vegetarian?

You must also note that Takis snacks are not for you if you follow a vegan or vegetarian diet. As mentioned earlier, the package of the chips clearly states that Takis chips may contain various allergens, including milk and eggs. This is due to cross-contamination at the facilities that handle other ingredients.

However, cross-contamination is not the only reason why Takis may contain non-vegan ingredients. Some flavors of Takis have eggs and milk products in the additives used for taste. Such flavoring agents must be avoided if you are on a vegan or vegetarian diet and prefer to avoid dairy and eggs.

That’s not the only reason why Takis chips may not be considered vegan. These snacks also use a particular dye called Red 40. This dye does not contain animal products, but it is tested on animals. As a result, people who follow a vegan or vegetarian diet for moral reasons prefer to stay away from Takis.

What are Takis – Tortilla Chips or Rolled Tacos?

Are Takis Gluten Free?

We have already told you that Takis chips were initially named Taquis because this snack contains rolled tacos, which makes it quite similar to taquitos. Do you know what taquitos are? Also known as rolled tacos, taquitos are made by rolling tortilla bread to form the outer shell. Inside the shell, there’s a filling.

The most popular recipes for taquitos have chicken or beef fillings. However, Takis are nothing more than crunchy rolled tortillas. They do not contain any filling, unlike chicken- or beef-filled taquitos or rolled tacos. Instead, they are just empty shells, but they are covered in spices that make them so desirable!

Let’s not forget the delicious crunch of the shells because they are fried. That sounds a lot like fried taco shells or tortilla chips, right? Granted, tortilla chips are most often triangular, while Takis chips are rolled. However, both are crispy standalone snacks. So, Takis are more similar to tortilla chips than taquitos.

If you are looking for a replacement for Takis, it is best to look for tortilla chips. Ideally, tortilla chips should be made using corn. Hence, they should be gluten free. The only things you will miss are the rolled tortillas and the hot spices – though it is recommended that everyone stays away from the latter.

What are Tortilla Chips?

Everyone loves tortilla chips – especially people with celiac disease or gluten allergy. Tortilla chips are made using corn tortillas, a kind of unleavened flatbread that was originally made by the Mexicans. The bread circles are cut into small pieces, usually triangular, and then fried or baked to make them crispy.

Corn tortillas are the oldest type of tortillas. They are made using masa de maíz, i.e., maize meal made after soaking corn in limewater to cure the corn kernels and remove the skin before grinding the corn. This is used as the base of the dough, which is then rolled and flattened to make the round bread pieces.

To make tortilla chips, corn tortillas are cut into small pieces. After frying or baking these small pieces, they are spiced for flavor. Tortilla chips are also used as the base of nachos, which we love with a topping of salsa or cheese. You will find many brands in the market today selling corn tortilla chips.

Are tortilla chips gluten free?

Most tortilla chips are made of corn tortillas, which are naturally gluten free. There are also bands of tortilla chips that use other ingredients such as sweet potato flour, chickpea, lentil, and more. Don’t forget that wheat flour tortillas are also popular – and so are tortillas made using corn and wheat flour.

So check the kind of tortilla used in chips you’re buying. Take a look at the list of additives for gluten ingredients, too! Many tortilla chips contain additives like flavors, coloring agents, preservatives, and more. These may contain gluten-rich ingredients. Plus, the existence of trace gluten is also a chance.

If you’re allergic to gluten or have celiac disease, it’s ideal to choose corn tortilla chips only and make sure that the ingredients don’t have gluten. The best option is to go for products labeled “gluten free”. It shows that the product is tested and found to have less than the permitted gluten limit of 20 ppm.

Some tortilla chips may not come with the “gluten free” label as they aren’t tested. But their ingredients list should give you a fair idea about the presence of gluten-rich ingredients. You can also contact the brands directly to determine if the facilities where these products are made also handle gluten products.

In most cases, corn tortilla chips with non-gluten additives should be alright for your consumption, even if you are supposed to avoid gluten. However, if you are severely allergic and your body reacts to trace gluten, your only options are approved gluten free tortilla chips and homemade tortilla chips.

Brands Offering Gluten Free Tortilla Chips

Every brand is unique in the way it presents its products – and Takis tortilla chips are no different. They are tortilla chips that look like empty taquito shells and are delicious for people who love excessively spicy food. But, if you’re required to avoid gluten, you will need to look for gluten free alternatives.

Let’s take a look at some of the gluten free brands offering tortilla chips…

  1. The Better Chip

If you are severely allergic to gluten, it’s time for you to shift to a healthy snacking option, i.e., The Better Chip.

You can choose different flavors of this gluten free corn tortilla chips.

This brand offers tortilla chips that are tested and certified as gluten free. So, you can incorporate this snack into your healthy diet.

Image Source

2. Cabo Chips

Are Takis Gluten Free?

Cabo Chips is a brand known for its gluten free, healthy tortillas. It also has a range of deliciously flavored tortilla chips.

Each package of Cabo Chips proudly mentions that it is a gluten free product.

So you can enjoy these tortilla chips without worrying about getting allergic reactions from consuming gluten.

Image Source

3. Garden of Eatin’

One of the most interesting things about the brand Garden of Eatin’ is that it has a range of tortilla chips of different colors of corn.

You’ll get blue chips, yellow chips, and white chips, as well as multigrain chips and potato chips.

The brand, certified as gluten free as mentioned on the pack, is absolutely safe for you.

Image Source

4. Late July

Another brand that creates tortilla chips for people with celiac disease or gluten allergy is Late July.

It has a wide range of tortilla chips that are free from gluten content.

The packets in which these chips are available clearly carry the “gluten free” label, which proves that these tortilla chips are safe for you.

Image Source

5. Mission Foods

Mission Foods has a special range of tortilla chips that are marked gluten free.

Even though they are processed in facilities that also handle gluten products, you still do not need to worry about the gluten content in the chips.

Just pick the tortilla chips that contain the label “gluten free” for the safe option.

Image Source

There are other brands of gluten free taco chips. These include tortilla chips by Way Better, Kettle Brand, Santitas, Doritos, and Utz Tortiyahs! Though they’re not certified as gluten free, they are considered safe by most people with celiac disease. Take them in small amounts to see how your body reacts to them.

Homemade Gluten Free Takis Tortilla Chips Recipe

When you have celiac disease or gluten allergy, making your favorite food at home becomes a habit – and a healthy one at that! If you love Takis tortilla chips, it’s a good idea to try and make them at home – without the harmful ingredients and in the safe environment of your kitchen. Check out this recipe…


Rolled Tortilla Chips

  • Masa flour: 1 cup
  • Salt: 1 tsp
  • Sugar: 1/2 tsp
  • Water: 1/2 to 2/3 cup
  • Vegetable oil: 4 cups

Spice Ingredients

  • Cayenne pepper: 1 tbsp
  • Ancho chili powder: 1 tsp
  • Dark chili powder: 1 tsp
  • Chili lime powder: 1 tsp
  • Onion powder: 1/4 tsp
  • Cheddar or nutritional yeast powder: 1 tbsp
  • Salt: 1 tsp
  • Lemon juice: As needed


  1. In a large bowl, put all the dry ingredients required for the rolled tortilla chips and mix them.
  2. Add water slowly and keep mixing until you get a firm dough.
  3. Now, divide the dough into small marble-sized balls.
  4. Then, put each ball in between click wraps and push down on them with a flat-bottomed bowl or plate.
  5. Next, use your rolling pin, roll from one end of the flat dough circle and move in to form a tube or rolled taco shell.
  6. Turn your stove on and set the heat to medium-high.
  7. Take a bowl and put it on the stove. Put all the vegetable oil in this bowl and heat it to 350 F. You can use a cooking thermometer to check the temperature.
  8. Gently place the rolled tortillas in the oil and start frying in batches of 6-8 rolls. Keep cooking for 3-4 minutes, and remove them when they begin to look brownish.
  9. Put the fried tortilla rolls on a paper towel and allow the excess oil to drain out.
  10. In another bowl, mix all the ingredients of the spice mix, except the lime juice, and combine. You can use nutritional yeast instead of cheddar cheese if you want to keep things vegan.
  11. Drizzle a little lemon juice on the chips while they are still warm.
  12. Then, add as little or as much of the spice mix as you like on the rolls and toss everything so that the spices coat the taco rolls properly.

Your homemade gluten free Takis chips are ready! You can enjoy them as a standalone snack. Or, you can serve them with a delicious cheesy dip or some salsa. The best thing about these homemade tacos is that they are gluten free and safe to consume. You can also turn them into a vegan snack easily.

Final Lines

Takis, a brand known for tortilla chips for those who love nothing but fiery hot food, is a favorite among many people. But it’s not for people who are allergic to gluten. That’s because even though they are made of corn tortillas, the brand gives a clear warning regarding the presence of gluten in the chips.

Even though they look like taquito shells that are fried until crispy, they don’t have taquitos’ fillings. Instead, they are covered in spices – giving you some spicy tortilla chips. It is a good idea for you to choose brands that offer gluten free tortilla chips. You can also make them at home to avoid gluten.

More Posts for You:


About the Author: Ksenija

Editor in Chief of Gluten Free Heroes, Ksenija brings years of experience in the media and nutrition fields. With a passion for healthy food and writing, she quickly became a dominant figure in the online blogging world. With Gluten Free Heroes she is in charge of keeping our message and content clear and on point.