Is Smuckers Caramel Gluten Free? Info, Alternatives & Recipes

  • Smucker’s is widely popular for its caramel-flavored syrups and toppings. 
  • The regular Caramel Topping contains gluten, as clearly indicated by its label.
  • The other caramel items by Smucker’s can be considered naturally gluten free. 
  • None of the other caramel products by the brand are labeled gluten free.

Is Smuckers Caramel gluten free? When I eat ice cream, I need caramel on top of it. So when I stopped eating gluten, I immidiatly checked if caramel is safe to consume.

This article will give you all the info you need about Smuckers caramel and also provide alternatives and recipes to make at home.

One of the greatest delights for dessert lovers is caramel. It’s sweet and sticky, with just the right hint of saltiness.

Drizzle some of it on ice cream, and you’re in heaven. But who has time to make it at home?

That’s why this brand of caramel is so popular! But is Smuckers caramel gluten free or not – and safe for people allergic to gluten?

Caramel shouldn’t be a cause for concern; all ingredients are naturally gluten free.

But readymade food brands often tweak original recipes. This has happened with the regular Spoonable Ice Cream Topping by Smucker’s, which has barley, though its other caramel products aren’t labeled gluten free, either.

Is Smuckers Caramel Gluten Free – What is Smuckers

Is Smuckers Caramel Gluten Free
Smuckers caramel topping

Smucker’s is a popular brand, known for its wide range of syrups and toppings. It brings you fruity spreads, syrups, ice cream toppings, and peanut butter.

They come in different flavors, including caramel. Even the caramel range contains different types of products. But are these safe for celiac patients?  

Out of the caramel flavored sauces, the regular Spoonable Ice Cream Topping contains barley, which is one of the gluten grains.

It’s the natural flavors used in this topping that have barley content. Thus, this topping is not gluten free and cannot be consumed by people who are allergic to gluten products. 

The list of ingredients of Smucker’s Spoonable Ice Cream Topping mentions the presence of barley, giving you a clear indication that it’s not for you if you have celiac disease.

But what about the other caramel sauces and toppings by Smuckers? Their ingredients lists suggest that they are naturally gluten free.

The ingredients list of none of the other caramel-flavored products by Smucker’s mentions barley or other gluten ingredients.

But do these lists reveal the complete truth? The brand can be trusted to disclose all ingredients because that is exactly what it does in the case of the Spoonable Ice Cream Topping. 

You see, barley is not one of the main ingredients in the Spoonable Ice Cream Topping; it is a part of the natural flavors.

So we can assume that if any of the other products had gluten content quietly hiding in one of the ingredients, the brand would make it a point to mention that on the product label.

So, apart from this one item, the other caramel-flavored syrups and toppings can be considered naturally free from gluten.

That being said, the brand makes no claims regarding the gluten status of its products.

It doesn’t even mention anything about the ingredients used in these syrups and toppings.

The caramel-flavored items by Smucker’s bear no gluten free label on the packaging.

So, it is safe to assume that these are not tested to check whether the gluten content in them is within the permitted level, i.e., 20 ppm.

There is every possibility of the presence of trace gluten due to cross-contamination. 

Whether it is the final product of the ingredients used, the possibility of contamination cannot be ruled out completely.

There’s every chance they have come into contact with other gluten ingredients, thus ending up with trace gluten.

But you can try these sauces in small amounts to test how they affect you. 

If you are not severely asymptotic to gluten and get allergic reactions when you consume trace gluten, you might try the barley-free caramel sauces by Smucker’s.

But if you don’t want to take any risks, it is recommended that you stay away from the other caramel sauces produced by Smucker’s, as well. 

You should note that this brand has many other products, and none of them make any claim or mention of being gluten free.

The products that don’t mention gluten on the label have ingredients that have not been derived from gluten. But that’s not sufficient to claim that they meet all established criteria.  

A Little About Smucker’s

Smucker’s has been around for about a century, established in 1897. Interestingly, it came into existence as a cider mill by Jerome Monroe Smucker.

Read More:  Is Risotto Gluten Free - Info, Brands and Recipes

Later, he started selling apple butter. You’ll be surprised to learn that the company claims to have once used apples planted by none other than Johnny Appleseed! 

For 12 decades, The JM Smucker Company has made food that Americans love.

From fruity spreads to sugar-free sauces, there’s everything on its catalog that people love.

There’s quite a sense of nostalgia associated with this brand name, and many childhood memories are attached to it.  

The company has been led to success and immense popularity by five generations of leaders, all within the family.

The last 15 years, in particular, have seen massive growth in the company as it has acquired some of the leading brands in its space.

With the aim of making people happy, Smucker’s remains a common favorite.

Smuckers’ Caramel Flavored Syrups and Toppings   

is smuckers caramel gluten free

When we think of Smucker’s caramel sauce, we generally think of the regular Spoonable Ice Cream Topping.

But did you know that the brand has a host of other caramel-flavored items? The list is quite long, and you will find these items dispersed throughout the different product categories. 

Smucker’s caramel sauces include:

  • Caramel Flavored Spoonable Topping – A caramel topping with a smooth texture to give ice cream and an extra kick
  • Hot Caramel Spoonable Ice Cream Topping – An easy-to-warm-up caramel topping for those who love hot caramel sauce
  • Magic Shell Caramel Flavored Topping – A silky caramel sauce that hardens to form a shell on your ice cream, just like magic
  • Microwaveable Hot Caramel Flavored Topping – A topping that can be microwaved for a smooth and silky texture to desserts
  • Simple Delight Salted Caramel Topping – A sauce with a delightful balance of sweet and salty, with a dash of sea salt
  • Caramel Flavored Sundae Syrup – A rich and smooth syrup with the deliciousness of caramel candy, perfect for sundaes 
  • Sugar-Free Caramel Flavored Sundae Syrup – A moreish caramel sauce that can make bland desserts fun, without any sugar  

These incredible caramel-flavored sauces from the house of Smucker’s differ in flavor and texture.

You can use them with different desserts. You can even chop a few pieces of an apple and serve them to your kids (or indulge in them yourself) with one of these caramel sauces as a dip or drizzle some on the top!

Is Caramel Gluten Free?

is caramel gluten free
via delish

Love caramel? We all do. So, the question is, can people with gluten allergy or celiac disease have caramel syrup or sauce? The answer is yes.

The ingredients used in both of them should be naturally gluten free, i.e., they are not derived from gluten grains like wheat, barley, and rye. So, it’s safe. 

One thing you need to know is the difference between caramel syrup and caramel sauce. When looking into products like the Smuckers caramel brand, gluten free or not, you should learn what it is you’re buying.

The first one is made primarily of sugar and water. It’s a mix of caramelized sugar and water to form a concentrated, sticky substance.

Caramel sauce, however, contains milk, cream, or butter, too, for a richer flavor.

As you can see, all the ingredients traditionally used in making caramel syrup or sauce are free from gluten ingredients.

So, it’s likely that unless the list of ingredients of a caramel sauce or syrup mentions otherwise, it is naturally free from gluten ingredients, even if it is not certified as a gluten free product. 

However, flavoring agents are also added to the recipe. Vanilla essence is one of the most popular flavoring agents.

Pure vanilla essence should be another naturally gluten free item – unless, of course, gluten gets added to it by the alcohol used in the extraction process or by some other additives.

Apart from that, commercially prepared caramel can have several additives, like flavoring agent, color, texturizers, preservatives, and more.

There’s a possibility that these ingredients have gluten content, either by cross-contamination or because of the components used in making these syrups or sauces. 

Smucker’s Spoonable Ice Cream Topping is an example of one such commercially made caramel that has gluten content.

That’s because the flavoring agent used in it has barley. Not all brands manage to reveal the presence or possibility of gluten content in their items. So, choose certified gluten free caramel.

Smucker’s Caramel Alternate Brands

Smucker’s caramel sauces are delicious, and apart from the Spoonable Ice Cream Topping, the other caramel products don’t contain ingredients derived from gluten grains.

Read More:  Gluten Free Instant Pudding - Recipes and Best Brands

But since the brand makes no mention regarding its initiative to make these celiac-friendly, you can look at the following options:

via amazon

Monin

Monin is known for its wide range of syrups, smoothies, sauces, and more. This range contains multiple caramel products, too, including regular sauce and syrup, salted syrup, toffee sauce, apple butter syrup, and more.

All of these are categorized on the site as gluten free products, though they aren’t certified. 

Joe and Seph 

Joe and Seph’s salted caramel sauce is a thick and sticky delight that smells of richness.

The double cream and the sweetness are balanced by the sea salt. The company’s site mentions that it is gluten free, though it doesn’t bear the gluten free label. It’s also made in an environment free from gluten products.  

Cottage Delight 

This salted caramel sauce by Cottage Delight has a rich, dark color and a richer taste.

The buttery flavor in the sauce makes it even more special. It also has a thick and smooth texture.

What’s more, it’s free from additives and is ideal for vegetarians. The brand also markets it as gluten free on its website.     

Wilkin & Sons – Tiptree

The Tiptree salted caramel spread by Wilkin & Sons has a delicious aroma of butterscotch.

Double cream and Maldon Sea Salt are in tandem to give you a balanced flavor palate profile.

The allergens marked on the ingredients list do not include gluten, and it is marketed as a gluten free caramel sauce.  

via amazon

Fudge Kitchen 

The Liquid Fudge Sauce in the flavor of sea salted caramel is perfectly named because of its chewy texture, which makes it stand apart in a crowd of runny sauces.

This sauce, made in the UK, is also marketed as gluten free, as it is made from non-gluten ingredients in a gluten free environment.  

via etsy

Four Country Gals

Jacked Up! by Four Country Gals is not everyone’s cup of tea. This caramel sauce is for those who are ready to take on any culinary adventure – because it contains cayenne pepper and Jack Daniels Tennessee Whiskey!

It is also advertised as a gluten free caramel sauce across all platforms. 

via ubuy.com

Cachafaz

To take your caramel sauce experience to the next level, you can try Cachafaz’s Dulce De Leche, an Argentine caramel.

It’s so rich and delicious that you can consider it a dessert all by itself! It’s so light that you won’t mind devouring the sweetness. This special sauce by Cachafaz is promoted as gluten free.

Torani

Japanese brand Torani brings you the taste of artisan caramel with the caramel flavored Puremade Sauce that’s rich in the burnt brown sugar flavor.

Its buttery decadence can be paired with coffee and hot chocolate, as well as desserts, for a velvety touch. This caramel, too, is touted as a gluten free sauce.

via prweb

Date Lady

The coconut caramel sauce by Date Lady proudly flaunts its gluten free label on the bottle.

It is also vegan, and it fits well in a paleo diet. It is also sugar-free and is sweetened with date syrup.

You can pair it with anything your mind can think of! Coffee, fruit, popcorn, oatmeal – let your imagination go wild. 

IMPORTANT NOTE

Most of these aren’t certified as gluten free, but they assure you that they don’t use gluten-containing ingredients in their sauces.

Some of them also ensure that they make their products in a gluten free environment to prevent cross-contamination. Unless you’re severely sensitive, you can try these. 

While there are plenty of alternatives to the Smuckers caramel which is gluten free but without a label, another safe bet will be to make your own at home!

Homemade Smucker’s Caramel Recipe – Gluten Free Caramel Sauce Recipe

is smuckers caramel gluten free
Image is for illustration only | via alergyfreealaska

People who have been living with celiac disease or gluten allergy for a while are used to the idea of cooking everything at home.

If you have not yet gotten there – well, this could be the start. Instead of looking for a caramel sauce that’s certified as gluten free, why don’t you try making it at home?

Here’s an easy gluten free caramel recipe to replace Smuckers caramel. 

Ingredients:

  • White sugar – 2 cups 
  • Brown sugar – 1 cup
  • Gluten free corn syrup (light) – 3/4 cup
  • Evaporated milk – 1 cup
  • Heavy whipping cream – 2 cups
  • Unsalted butter – 1 cup
  • Sea salt – 1 tsp
  • Pure vanilla extract – 1 tsp

Instructions:

  • Take a large pot that’s deep enough for you to clip a candy thermometer onto it. Put all the ingredients, except the vanilla extract, into this pot and combine them. 
  • Place this pot on medium heat and start cooking. Don’t forget to stir continuously and scrape the bottom and the sides of the pot using a spatula. It’s best to use one made of rubber. 
  • Keep checking the thermometer to monitor the temperature of the content inside the pot. Continue to cook, and do not leave the pot unattended until the caramel sauce reaches 224 F.
  • Remove the pot from the stovetop and place it on the cooling rack. Then add the vanilla extract and stir well. Allow the sauce to cool down.   
Read More:  Is Amaretto Liqueur Gluten Free? Info and Recipes

Your caramel sauce is ready. You can drizzle it on your pancake, stir a spoonful in your latte, or serve it as a dip with apples.

Store the leftover caramel sauce in a jar at room temperature. Refrigerating can make the sauce a little thick, but you can always microwave it for half a minute to make it thin if you want.  

Gluten Free Caramel Pecan Bars Recipe

Image for illustration only

Are you tired of the same old desserts – or no dessert at all – because you need to stay clean and gluten free?

You already have a jar of caramel sauce in your refrigerator. Here’s a fabulous recipe for caramel pecan bars.

Time to get started on a gluten free dessert that you and your family will enjoy! 

Recipe: 

It’s best to divide the recipe into three sections – crust, filling, and topping. Luckily for you, the topping section is ready! 

a) Crust

  • Coconut flour – 1 cup
  • Butter – 3/4 cup
  • Brown sugar – 2 tbsp
  • Eggs – 2 pieces
  • Heavy cream – 2 tbsp
  • Pure vanilla – 1 tsp
  • Salt – 1 pinch

b) Filling

  • Pecans – 2 cups 
  • Brown sugar – 1/2 cup
  • Gluten free chocolate chips – 1/4 cup
  • Heavy cream – 1/2 cup
  • Caramel sauce – 1/4 cup
  • Eggs (large) – 2 pieces
  • Butter – 1/4 cup
  • Pure vanilla – 1 tsp

c) Toppings

  • Gluten free chocolate (melted) – 3 tbsp
  • Gluten free caramel – 3 tbsp

Instructions:

Follow these steps to make the pecan bars so that you don’t have to sweat!

a) Coconut Crust

  • Start by preheating your oven to 350 F. 
  • In a bowl, add eggs, heavy cream, and vanilla, and whisk everything together. 
  • In another bowl, add butter and then pour in the cream batter that you just made.  
  • Add coconut flour, sugar, and salt, and mix everything together till they are well-blended. The texture should be such that you can make a ball out of it. 
  • Place this dough in a square cake pan and press it to the bottom of it.   
  • Bake for 5 minutes. Then, pull it out of the oven and let it cool down. 

b) Pecan Filling

  • Once again, make sure that the oven is preheated to 350 F.
  • Then, chop the pecans and spread them out across the crust. 
  • Take a bowl and put eggs, sugar, cream, vanilla, butter, chocolate chips, and caramel into it. Mix everything properly and pour it over the crust. 
  • Bake the pie crust with the filling for 27-30 min. 
  • Remove from the oven when the top becomes golden brown and let it sit on the cooling rack. Then cut them into small square-shaped bars.

c) Toppings

  • Drizzle the gluten free caramel sauce and the melted chocolate on top of the pecan bars. 
  • If you want, you can add more caramel sauce on the top!

Your caramel pecan bars are ready. These are soft and chewy in the center and absolutely delicious! These can be kept in a large jar and keep them in the refrigerator.

But they will also last long if you keep them at room temperature. Both adults and children will enjoy having these bars!

Conclusion

Summing up all we learned about Smuckers gluten free caramel we can see we need to dive deeper into the info of each product and not just rely on the label.

Smucker’s has a wide range of caramel sauces, of which the Spoonable Ice Cream Topping contains barley, which is clearly mentioned in the list of ingredients.

Other caramel sauces by the brand are not made from gluten grains. We can assume that these sauces use naturally gluten free ingredients. 

But the products aren’t certified as gluten free, and the brand makes no claim in this regard.

It’s difficult to determine whether the sauces have trace gluten or whether the gluten content in them, if any, is less than the permitted limit of 20 ppm. So, either pick alternative brands or make your own caramel sauce.

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.