Are Bugles Gluten Free? Types and Recipes

are bugles gluten free
  • Bugles are uniquely shaped corn chips manufactured by General Mills, America.
  • Bugles are available in a variety of flavors like Original, Nacho Cheese, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and Caramel.
  • Bugles may or may not be gluten free depending upon the ingredients used.
  • Bugles were first launched in 1984 along with General Mills’ cheddar-flavored Whistles and the flower-shaped Daisy’s. 
  • Bugles are one of the healthiest chips with zero trans fat.

Generally found in cereals like wheat, barley, rye, and triticale, gluten is a family of storage proteins that does more harm to your body than good. For example, it’s associated with abnormal weight gain and other health issues. However, with the growing awareness of its ill effects among consumers, people are now avoiding its consumption and shifting to the now popular gluten free diets…And we want to know are bugles gluten free!

Nevertheless, going on a gluten free diet isn’t as easy as it sounds here. Such a diet excludes your favorite and comfort food like pasta, bread, pizza, cookies, health bars, and many more. Besides, there exist some other food items you may never believe have gluten in them. Is bugle one among them? Let’s find out below...

What Are Bugles?

Are Bugles Gluten Free?
Image source

Bugles is a popular corn chip manufactured by General Mills and Tom’s Snacks. General Mills is an American multinational branded consumer foods manufacturer. Bugles was one of the three snacks the “Big G” launched in 1984 besides its cheddar-flavored Whistles and the flower-shaped Daisy’s. 

They carry a unique witch’s long nail shape. However, many people assume its shape resembles the musical instrument “bugle” and that it is behind its name. 

Initially, the company launched the snack in four main flavors: Original, Nacho Cheese, Chocolate Peanut Butter, and Caramel. However, many other varieties are available in the market to satisfy everyone’s taste buds. These include cream and onion, salsa, hot buffalo, barbecue, etc. 

Besides a ready-to-eat snack, Bugles pair very well with cold drinks and ketchup and sauces like mustard sauce, Jalapeno sauce, among others. 

Are Bugles Gluten Free?

The answer to this question is both a yes and no. This is because whether Bugles are gluten free or not solely depends upon their ingredients. For example, the original variety of Bugles is made using degermed yellow cornmeal, coconut oil and/or palm kernel oil, sugar, salt, and baking soda. 

Are Bugles Gluten Free?
Image source

If your Bugles packet shows the above ingredients, rest assured of it being gluten free. However, note that some varieties of Bugles contain wheat and milk, which contain gluten. 

Thus, it’s important to go through the ingredients list of your Bugles packet to know whether it’s gluten free or not.

Why Are Gluten Free Bugles The Best Choice Over Ones With It?

Being a storage protein, gluten is generally not associated with many health benefits. Instead, there are several ill-effects it’s better known for. In addition, the increasing awareness among people about gluten intolerance has made them avoid adding it to their diet. 

Read More:  Is Captain Morgan Rum Gluten Free

The following are its common side effects that further motivate people to toss out gluten from their diet and Bugles. 

  • Bad Digestive System

Regulated gluten consumption results in various digestive system problems like bloating, nausea, diarrhea, constipation, fatigue, etc. Moreover, with continued consumption, gluten is believed to intensify its negative impacts on your body further. 

Thus, going with gluten free Bugles and other food items is considered the best way to eliminate these digestive problems. 

  • It Causes Chronic Inflammation In Those With Celiac Disease

If inflammation lasts for weeks, months, or even years, it’s called chronic inflammation. Though it’s a natural process that helps heal infections, chronic inflammation can oppositely affect your body. 

As per the studies, gluten came out as the primary cause causing chronic inflammation in celiac disease patients. It’s an autoimmune disorder that triggers in your small intestine soon after consuming gluten.

Thus, going gluten-free can work towards reducing chronic inflammation in your body.

  • Gluten Lowers Your Energy Levels

It’s a well-known fact that consuming gluten-rich food makes you lazy by lowering your energy levels. In addition, a study revealed that people high on gluten often experience tiredness, sluggishness, or “brain fog.” 

Further, since gluten tends to damage your gut, it results in the deficiency of certain nutrients, giving rise to the above symptoms. If you have celiac disease, the situation is worse for you.

Thus, all this calls for the complete removal of gluten from your diet. 

  • It Leads To An Abnormal Weight Gain

You must have experienced an abnormal weight gain after taking in any gluten rich food like wheat, pizza, pasta, etc. This is because such foods increase the calorie count in your body, which then adds to your overall weight.

By removing gluten from your diet, you indirectly eliminate the weight-gaining junk foods like those mentioned above. Thus, the above ill-effects of gluten consumption make people go for gluten free Bugles and other food items. 

How To Check For Gluten On Bugles Labels?

#1 Look for the “Gluten Free” Label

Most of the Bugles packets may have the “gluten free” label present on the front side of the packet. Since not all packets still feature this label, you have to consider other ways to watch out for gluten.

Since gluten is likewise never spelled out directly on the packet, you must be familiar with the common ingredients containing gluten. For example, the following is the list of common gluten rich foods.

  • Wheat,
  • Rye,
  • Barley,
  • Oats,
  • Brewer’s yeast,
  • Wheat-based products,
  • Triticale, etc.

If the Bugles packet lists any of these ingredients or its food, it contains gluten; otherwise, it’s gluten free.

#2 Go Through the Ingredients List

Instead of the “gluten free” label, consider going through the list of ingredients usually found on the backside of the packet. 

As referenced earlier, the base ingredients of Bugles include degermed yellow cornmeal, coconut oil and/or palm kernel oil, sugar, salt, and baking soda. 

Read More:  Is Polenta Gluten Free? Corn Grits and More

While none of these contain gluten, the inclusion of wheat and milk in some bugle varieties can add gluten to that bugle type. Thus, have a keen eye on the ingredients list. 

These two ways will come in handy to figure out the gluten free bugle considering its health benefits. 

Are Bugles Healthy To Eat?

Yes, Bugles are one of the healthiest chips (ready-to-eat snacks) you can consume without thinking much about your health. Their original flavor is the healthiest among all its other varieties.

The standard size of a bugle pouch is 7.5 ounces, and the following are its nutritional values:

  • Saturated fat: 58%
  • Trans fat: 0%
  • Cholesterol: 0%
  • Sodium: 19%
  • Total carbohydrates: 9%
  • Dietary fibres: 3%
  • Total sugars: 0%

Being less on oil, Bugles form an awesome party snack you can munch on without thinking much. 

Must Try Bugle Recipes

Bugles are a ready-to-eat snack you can munch on the go. But, it’s never a bad idea to try various innovative Bugles recipes to lift its taste and make your taste buds go merry. 

Below we’ve compiled the top four bugle recipes that get ready in the blink of an eye and will suit everyone’s taste preferences. Recall, all these recipes are highly addictive. 

So, let’s get right on this…

Cinnamon Bugles

With a preparation time of merely 5 minutes, you can treat your family and friends with these finger-licking cinnamon Bugles. Plus, these can go as a snack or an appetizer both.

Ingredients

  • 5 tbsp of melted butter
  • 1/2 cup of white granulated sugar
  • 1.5 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 4 cups of Bugles (preferably the original flavor)

Instructions

  1. To prepare these awesome cinnamon Bugles, collect all the dry ingredients, i.e., sugar, cinnamon, and Bugles, in a big mixing bowl. 
  2. After mixing them for a few minutes, transfer the bowl’s contents to a baking dish.
  3. Don’t forget to apply some melted butter to the baking dish. 
  4. Broil the contents at the standard baking temperature for at least a minute. 
  5. Take the Bugles out, stir them, and again broil them at the same temperature for another 30 seconds to a minute. The key is to bake them all through the bottom of the dish without letting the top layer burn. 
  6. Once baked, either serve with some cold drink or store in an airtight container for later consumption.

Chocolate Dipped Peanut Butter Bugles

Chocolate and peanut butter is a heavenly pair no one can resist. This chocolate-dipped peanut butter stuffed bugle recipe will surely rule over your heart. 

Ingredients

  • 1 packet of Bugles (preferably the original flavor)
  • Any brown or white chocolate
  • Nuts (optional)
  • Peanut butter 
  • Powdered sugar
  • Cinnamon powder (optional)

Instructions

  1. As the first step, sort out the usable Bugles from the packet with an opening in the front. 
  2. Once you’re done with this, evenly blend the powdered sugar with peanut butter. If you like the original taste of peanut butter, you can avoid adding sugar to it. 
  3. In another pan, melt the chocolate until it reaches a consistency ideal for dipping the Bugles in it. You can also add nuts to the melted chocolate. 
  4. Following this, fill the peanut butter & sugar mixture into the Bugles to its tip end. 
  5. Don’t fill too much peanut butter in the Bugles; else, they will break. 
  6. Dip the stuffed Bugles in melted chocolate and arrange them over a tray lined with butter or parchment paper.
  7. Keep the tray in the freezer for a few hours or until the chocolate hardens. 
  8. Serve chilled with some cinnamon sprinkled on the top.
Read More:  Are Grits Gluten Free. Ingredients and More

Chocolate & Caramel Bugles

Can anything be better than a bugle-based dessert that’s sweet, salty, chocolaty, and crunchy simultaneously? It can never be! This iconic chocolate and caramel bugle recipe is everyone’s all-time favorite dish that gets ready in under 5 minutes.

Ingredients

  • Butter
  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup 
  • Chocolate sauce
  • 1 packet of Bugles (preferably the original flavor)
  • Cinnamon (optional)
  • Baking soda
  • Chocolate chips (white/brown)

Instructions

  1. In a non-stick pan or microwave, prepare a mixture of butter, sugar, and corn syrup. If using a microwave, don’t forget to add a tsp of baking soda.
  2. In the same bowl, properly toss the Bugles until every bugle develops a thick coating of the caramel sauce.
  3. Transfer the contents of the bowl onto butter or parchment paper and let the Bugles cool down a little bit.
  4. Once they have come to room temperature, drizzle hot chocolate sauce on the top as much as you want!
  5. To finish it off, sprinkle some chocolate chips.
  6. Serve cold.

Brownie Fudge Bugles

If you love brownie fudge, you should try this quick and romantic recipe that takes merely a few minutes to prepare.

Ingredients

  • Readymade brownie fudge
  • 1 packet of Bugles
  • Cinnamon powder (optional)
  • Chocolate sauce (optional)
  • Powdered nuts

Instructions

  1. To start with, crumble the brownie fudge for stuffing inside the Bugles. Mix some powdered nuts of your choice into this mixture.
  2. Stuff the Bugles with the crumbled brownie fudge to its tip end. However, don’t over stuff. 
  3. Spread these stuffed Bugles on the butter or parchment paper.
  4. Drizzle some chocolate sauce on the top of the Bugles.
  5. Serve cold.

Final Lines on Are Bugles Gluten Free

You can use your creativity in these recipes and alter the ingredients or recipe to prepare more awesome recipes with the star ingredient – Bugles.

First launched in 1984 by America’s largest consumer food manufacturer General Mills, Bugles took no time to make their way to everyone’s heart. Being a cornmeal-based ready-to-eat snack, it’s a healthy option and the top preference of all age groups.

Furthermore, in most cases, it’s 100% gluten free. Still, some of its latest varieties include milk and wheat and thus making it a gluten rich product.

Be it any way, pay heed to check its ingredients to know whether it’s gluten free or not. If it is, go ahead and prepare the above awesome and finger-licking quick recipes to greet your taste buds. 

More Posts for You:

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.