Is Philadelphia Cream Cheese Gluten Free?

  • Thanks to its unique creamy and fresh taste, Philadelphia Cream Cheese can be used in many delicious ways.
  • Cream cheese is naturally gluten-free. According to Kraft, Philadelphia Cream Cheese IS gluten-free and does not contain wheat, nuts, eggs, or soy.
  • Since Philadelphia was thought out to be shared, cross-contamination might happen if it comes in contact with other gluten-containing products (such as bread, bagels, etc.) or contaminated knives that are dipped in the recipient.
  • A versatile and delicious treat, Philadelphia Cream Cheese is gluten-free, and thus perfectly suitable for celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers.

Is Philadelphia cream cheese gluten free? YES! The everyday delicious white heavenly cheese is gluten free and you can stop reading now because that’s all you really wanted to know!

Just kidding, if you like to get the full info on Philadelphia cream cheese and learn more about why it’s gluten free, read on.

Around for over 140 years, the Philadelphia brand has become a referent for cream cheese.

Thanks to its unique creamy and fresh taste, Philadelphia Cream Cheese can be used in many delicious ways. From pizzas to stakes, spaghetti, sauces, bites, bakes, cakes, or appetizers, you know that using Philadelphia in your recipes means that something mouth-watering is about to happen in the kitchen. 

But is Philadelphia Cream Cheese suitable for celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers? 

Is Philadelphia Cream Cheese Gluten Free – What is Philadelphia Cream Cheese

Cream cheese is a soft fresh cheese and it usually contains milk and cream. However, with mass-production, stabilizers such as carrageenan and carob bean gum had to be added.

According to FDA standards, cream cheese must contain at least 33% milk fat, have a moisture content inferior to 55%, while pH should range between 4.4 to 4.9.

Cream cheese started out as a luxurious treat due to its short shelf-life. Originally produced in the Philadelphia area, cream cheese was a rare and expensive delicacy that only a few selected ones could enjoy.

Read More:  Are Cheese Curds Gluten free? Facts, Types and Recipe

With the development of railroads, the cream cheese from Philadelphia slowly started to become available across the whole country, reaching New York City.

Even though farmers in the New York area also made cream cheese, the Manhattan fine restaurants included “Philadelphia cream cheese” in their menus. As the demand for cream cheese was constantly increasing, modern factories were opened in New York.

This is the time when dairy farmer William A. Lawrence and distributor Alvah Reynolds joined forces and gave birth to a brand that would dominate the cream cheese market for over 140 years: Philadelphia Cream Cheese.



Currently manufactured by Kraft, Philadelphia Cream Cheese is available in various delicious flavours.

Is Philadelphia Cheese Cream gluten-free?

Cream cheese is naturally gluten-free. According to Kraft, Philadelphia Cream Cheese IS gluten-free and does not contain wheat, nuts, eggs, or soy.

However, Kraft advises consumers to always check labels as there might be flavours that are not gluten-free (mainly due to ingredients changes). According to Kraft’s policy, all allergens will be clearly displayed on the label.

Ingredients of Philadelphia Cheese Cream 

PHILADELPHIA Original Cream Cheese Spread contains: 

  • Pasteurized Milk & Cream
  • Cheese culture
  • Whey
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Salt
  • Natamycin (A Natural Mold Inhibitor)
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Vitamin A Palmitate

Allergens: Milk

Dietary Claims: No Artificial Flavours, Kosher

For a full list of available flavours, make sure to visit https://www.kraftheinz-foodservice.com/products/0000070246/philadelphia 

Things to look out for

Since Philadelphia was thought out to be shared, cross-contamination might happen if it comes in contact with other gluten-containing products (such as bread, bagels, etc.) or contaminated knives that are dipped in the recipient.

So make sure to label your recipient as ‘gluten-free’ to keep away careless gourmands. 

To sum up 

A versatile and delicious treat, Philadelphia Cream Cheese is gluten-free, and thus perfectly suitable for celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers.

Read More:  Is Creme Brulee Gluten Free. Info and Brands Inside

However, special attention should be paid to cross-contamination with other gluten-containing foods. Other than that, just Say Cheese and start enjoying!

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.