Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten Free?

  • Heinz’s ketchup line is considered gluten-free to 20 ppm.
  • Heinz Tomato Ketchup contains no palm oil, flavours, colours, preservatives, thickeners, or gluten-containing ingredients.
  • Since ketchup is usually combined with other foods, make sure it does not get cross-contaminated (especially if it comes in a jar).
  • Heinz ketchup is gluten-free and can be safely consumed by vegans, celiac, and gluten-intolerant consumers.

Is Heinz ketchup gluten free? Let’s forget for a second that basically ketchup is supposed to be just tomatoes and water right? Well, in reality it’s not like that at all, ketchups are made from other ingredients which makes asking the question if Heinz ketchup is in fact gluten free very reasonable.

So let’s find out below.

Alongside mustard, ketchup can be easily defined as the delicious king of all condiments! A flavourful red concoction, ketchup makes the perfect addition to almost all our favourite foods. Open any fridge in any part of the world and you will see a red bottle as soon as you open its door. 

But is it safe to eat if you are gluten-sensitive or suffer from celiac disease? Today we will have a look at Heinz Ketchup.

Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten Free – What is Heinz Ketchup

Widely used as a condiment, the tomato ketchup originally contained ingredients such as egg whites, grapes, mushrooms, oysters, mussels, or walnuts.

However, nowadays the term usually refers to a sweet and tangy sauce that contains tomatoes, vinegar, sugar, as well as different seasonings and spices. Though flavours and spices vary, the most common are onions, coriander, cloves, allspice, cumin, mustard, and garlic.

Heinz is, by far, the leading tomato ketchup manufacturer, selling over 650 million bottles each year all over the world. But are their products gluten-free?

Heinz ketchup IS gluten-free

Heinz’s ketchup line is considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. According to Heinz, the distilled vinegar they use for their ketchup is derived from corn, not other gluten-containing sources.

Read More:  Is Heineken Gluten Free - Info, Other Brands and More

That means Heinz ketchup can be safely eaten by celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers.

Ingredients of Heinz Ketchup

Heinz Tomato Ketchup contains no palm oil, flavours, colours, preservatives, thickeners, or gluten-containing ingredients.

Their classical Tomato Ketchup contains: 

Nutrition facts:

If you want to check out all the available varieties, check out Heinz’s official website

Things to look out for

According to Heinz’s policy, all allergens will be clearly displayed on the label. Since some varieties of ketchup may be gluten-free in some countries, but contain gluten in others, checking the label before purchasing (especially when travelling abroad) is not a bad idea. If you have doubts, you can always contact the manufacturer.

Since ketchup is usually combined with other foods, make sure it does not get cross-contaminated (especially if it comes in a jar). If you are having a meal at a restaurant, asking for ketchup packets might save you from a lot of troubles.  

To sum up

Heinz ketchup is gluten-free and can be safely consumed by vegans, celiac, and gluten-intolerant consumers. However, you should pay special attention to cross-contamination with other foods, especially if you are eating out. Bon appetit!

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.