Is Frigo String Cheese Gluten Free? Info and Recipes

  • Frigo Cheese is one of the most popular string cheese brands. 
  • It is mozzarella cheese processed to make it chewy, stringy goodness.
  • Frigo Cheese is made from naturally gluten-free ingredients. 
  • It is not tested or certified as a gluten-free product.

Some people complain that Frigo string cheese doesn’t taste quite like real cheese. But most people think that it is absolutely delicious and love to devour the stringy deliciousness. But is Frigo string cheese gluten-free? 

You can pair it with jalapenos or enjoy it as it is. Since it is simple mozzarella cheese, anyone can enjoy Frigo!

It takes a refined taste to enjoy cheese varieties like gruyere, stinking bishop, or blue cheese. But often, you need some childlike cheesy fun: and string cheese is the way to go. What string cheese enthusiast has not tried Frigo? Everyone has tried it.

Frigo string cheese is considered a healthy cheese option because it is free from most allergens, except dairy, of course. It also doesn’t contain harmful additives or sugar.

So, it is a popular choice among cheese lovers. Fortunately, it is also free from gluten content, though it is not certified. 

Is Frigo String Cheese Gluten-Free? What is Frigo String Cheese?

You’d have to be quite snobbish not to be in love with string cheese. Why else would you not care for the chewy, stretchy mozzarella!

One of the most popular brands in the market is Frigo, bringing tasty milky bits to our homes since 1938! It’s also a healthy option for people who have gluten allergies.

If you look at the list of ingredients on the package, you will notice that Frigo string cheese does not have any gluten content, i.e., it is made from naturally gluten-free ingredients.

It is low-moisture cheese made of pasteurized part-skim milk. It also has cheese cultures, salt, and enzymes.

None of these contain gluten grains. It also doesn’t have additives that might add gluten content to the cheese. Yet,

Frigo string cheese is not certified as gluten-free.

is Frigo String Cheese Gluten Free

This means that it has not been tested or proven to have less than the permitted gluten limit of 20 ppm. The product does not carry a gluten-free logo.

So, the chances of cross-contamination can’t be eliminated. Whether the facilities in which it is manufactured or processed are shared with other gluten products is unknown. So, the cheese may have trace gluten in it. 

The Celiac Foundation received confirmation from Saputo Cheese, the company that produces Frigo string cheese, that this cheese is one of the cheese varieties produced by the company which does not contain gluten.

Most people with celiac disease have no problem eating this cheese.   

It is to be noted that the company also manufactures some cheese varieties that contain barley. So, cross-contamination in shared properties is not impossible.

It is best to try the cheese in small amounts to ensure that you don’t get allergic reactions due to the possible presence of gluten in it. 

Is Frigo String Cheese Healthy?

We answered the question – is Frigo string cheese gluten-free. But, is it healthy, generally speaking.

Frigo string is a creamy and tasty delight that has been America’s go-to snack for a long time. It is a common item in every household.

Whether it’s a kid’s lunchbox or a family on a picnic, Frigo string cheese is the preferred munchy enjoyed by kids and adults alike.

Fortunately, when it comes to the healthy quotient of America’s favorite cheesy snack, you have nothing to worry about.

It is free from all recognized allergens, except dairy.

The company confirms that it is 100% real cheese without any preservatives or any other harmful additive. 

Read More:  Is Food Coloring Gluten Free - Brands and Information

Each serving of this cheese, a mozzarella stick of 24 oz, has 80 calories and 6 grams of protein. It has 6 grams of fat content and only 1 gram of carb content.

It is also rich in vitamins and calcium and can keep you full for a longer time. There is no denying that this string cheese is a healthy snack. 

There are other versions of Frigo string cheese, too, which are quite wholesome, too.

The Light String Cheese, for instance, has only 50 calories, along with 6 grams of protein, 2.5 grams of carbs, and no fat at all! On the other hand, the Superstring Cheese has Vitamin D and Vitamin A

So, in simple words, Frigo String Cheese is not only delicious but also healthy. That is why you will find it in the house of almost every American family with kids, especially those who want their easy-to-serve foods to be healthy. Frigo Cheese is not only snackable but also used for cooking. 

Is Cheese Gluten Free?   

100% pure and natural cheese should never contain gluten as it is made from the naturally gluten-free ingredient, i.e., milk.

However, gluten might be added while manufacturing cheese. Processed cheese, cheese products, and cheese from which salt or fat are removed might have gluten.

Some cheese varieties might contain wheat starch, modified starch, or additives to enhance the taste or texture of the cheese. Besides, there are flavored cheese varieties that may also contain added ingredients. Plus, the preservatives used may also have gluten. So check the ingredients list properly.

We can conclude that some cheese and cheese products may have gluten content, depending on the manufacturing or processing method. These are not just present in the form of wheat, rye, or barley. Gluten-rich ingredients derived from these can be present in cheese in the form of additives.

Naturally Gluten Free Cheese Varieties

Here are a few cheese varieties that are naturally free from gluten content:

  • Blue Cheese
  • Brie  
  • Cheddar
  • Feta
  • Cream Cheese
  • Goat Cheese
  • Ricotta
  • Parmesan
  • Provolone
  • Swiss Cheese
  • Cottage Cheese

Of these, you need to be careful about blue cheese and cottage cheese.

Blue Cheese may be gluten free

Blue cheese is gluten-free unless the mold cultures are grown on bread made of wheat or rye.

Cottage cheese may have wheat starch or modified starch with wheat. Read the ingredients list to know about the presence of gluten.

Naturally Gluten Free Cheese Products

Here’s a list of cheese products that may be made using naturally free from gluten ingredients:

  • Shredded cheese 
  • Cheese Whiz 
  • Dairy-Free Cheese
  • String Cheese 
  • Cheese Powder 
  • Cheese Spreads

These cheese varieties are usually gluten-free, but you must also read the label to check the ingredients’ list. That’s because these cheese products might have additives that can affect the cheese’s texture, consistency, and flavor and prevent clumping. These additives might contain gluten grains.  

As for non-dairy cheese varieties made from plant sources, the list of ingredients may or may not include gluten. The most popular plant-based alternative to dairy cheese is made from avocado. Another naturally gluten-free and vegan alternative to real cheese is nutritional yeast. 

The addition of gluten may not be due to the presence of wheat, barley, rye, or their derivatives. The cheese you’re buying can come in contact with gluten during manufacturing or processing. So, you have to be careful about non-certified cheese, as well as loose cheese sold on open deli counters.

String Cheese Alternative Brands

As you must have understood, Frigo string cheese is naturally free from gluten and people with celiac disease or gluten allergy usually trust it. That’s because most people enjoy it without experiencing allergic reactions. There are many other string cheese brands with no gluten ingredients.

Read More:  Is Corned Beef Gluten Free? Gluten Free Heroes

Here are a few other string cheese brands that are either naturally gluten-free or are certified.

a) Cheesewich String Cheese

The mozzarella string cheese and smoked mozzarella string cheese from the house or Cheesewich are delicious options for looking for gluten-free options. These cheese varieties come in packets that flaunt the GF label, which means that it is safe for you if you’re allergic to gluten.

b) WW (Weight Watchers) String Cheese

WW has a range of three different string cheese types, all of which are considered safe for consumption by people with celiac disease. These cheese variants aren’t tested for their gluten content, but the website mentions a gluten-free range of products. Clearly, these do not contain any gluten grains. 

c) Galbani String Cheese

The soft, creamy string cheese by Galbani has a deep flavor, like that of Jack cheese or brie. It is not only tasty but also a healthy string cheese option. It is considered a gluten free cheese option because of the ingredients used in making this mozzarella cheese. But it’s not certified as gluten free.

d) Organic Valley Stringles

Stringles, from the house of Organic Valley, is known for its rich texture and balanced taste. It is one of the most trusted cheese brands. It does not bear the “gluten free” certification label. However, the brand confirms that it is made with non-gluten products and in a gluten free environment.

e) Sargento String Cheese

Sargento produces yet another cheese string that’s hugely popular. It has a classic flavor with a hint of sourness. This string cheese is also not certified as gluten-free. However, the company’s website confirms all its cheese varieties are natural and can fit into a gluten-free diet plan.    

f) 365 Organic String Cheese

365 Organic String Cheese is not tested and hence does not claim to be gluten-free. However, it has a label to call out the allergens present in it, and this label does not mention gluten. People trust it with celiac disease, and there’s hardly any complaint about allergic reactions caused by it.  

g) Kraft String Cheese

Kraft is one of the companies that try to help people with gluten allergy enjoy a healthy diet by mentioning gluten ingredients clearly on its label. Since its string cheese does not mention gluten, we can consider it naturally gluten free, even though this cheese is not tested and certified. 

h) Kroger String Cheese

Kroger string cheese is yet another favorite among people with celiac disease and gluten allergy. It has a light but buttery taste and the strings are quite thin. While the cheese pack does not have a gluten-free label, its website flaunts a GF symbol. It is naturally free from gluten content.

i) Horizon Organic String Cheese

Horizon’s unique flavor makes it a bit of an acquired taste, but it is still a niche favorite. The website of the company mentions that this cheese is perfectly suitable for a gluten-free diet. But the product is not certified, and the brand does not claim that every package is entirely free from all gluten. 

j) Daiya 

Looking for dairy-free cheese? Daiya can be just the right option for you. It is created to taste like mozzarella cheese, but it is a plant-based cheese. Thus, it is free from all types of allergens. The product’s packaging carries a gluten-free label, which means that it is absolutely safe for you.  

Many of these string cheese brands are not certified as gluten-free. But either they are marketed that way, or the brand mentions their gluten-free status. Just because a product is not certified doesn’t mean that it contains gluten. It can simply mean that the product is not tested. 

Read More:  Is Cheese Whiz Gluten Free. What People With Celiac Should Know

Most of these brands are naturally gluten-free, and people with gluten allergies trust them. But don’t forget that there is a possibility of these products containing trace gluten because of cross-contamination. So, it is best if you test a non-certified cheese in small amounts first.    

Air-Fryer Mozzarella Stick Recipe (Keto-friendly and Gluten-Free)

Frigo string cheese comes in the form of individual cheese sticks. It’s fun to pack these in a lunch box or eat them as a snack.

However, you can also enjoy making mozzarella sticks with these individual sticks! We have a fun mozzarella stick recipe that’s gluten-free and keto-friendly!

Ingredients:

  • String cheese – 6 sticks
  • Eggs (large) – 1-2 pieces 
  • Parmesan cheese (grated) – 1/2 Cup
  • Blanched almond flour – 1/3 cup
  • Italian seasoning – 1 tsp
  • Garlic powder – 1/2 tsp
  • Sea salt – 1/4 tsp

Instructions:

  • Start by prepping your air fryer (if needed) by lining the basket with tin foil.
  • Take each string cheese stick and cut it in half to get 12 short cheese sticks. 
  • In a bowl, beat the egg. It’s best to start with one egg and add the next one if it is needed.
  • Take a dish and put all the dry ingredients in it. Mix them together properly. 
  • In this step, it’s essential to arrange your cheese sticks, egg wash, and gluten free breading mixture, followed by a dish layered with parchment paper, to create a dipping station.
  • Take each cheese stick, dip it in the beaten egg first and then roll it in the dry mix. It is a good idea to roll the stick between your palms to press the breading and secure the coating.
  • Repeat the process for a double coating and make sure that the white cheese isn’t visible. If needed, roll it in the breading again to cover every bit of it. Place it on the final plate.        
  • Cover all the cheese sticks like this and keep them on the plate. Then, place the plate in the freezer for about an hour to ensure that the cheese doesn’t melt out of the crispy coating.
  • Grease the basket of the air fryer (or the tin foil, if used), and the cheese sticks on both sides using a cooking spray before placing the coated cheese stick in the air fryer basket.    
  • Cook the sticks at 375 degrees for 7-10 minutes. 

Your cheese sticks are ready! They will be golden on the outside and gooey on the inside. To enjoy this amazing texture, make sure to serve them immediately!

They are delicious on their own, though you can also serve them with a gluten-free marinara sauce or ranch dressing to enjoy! Now, isn’t that a fun way to put the individual sticks of string cheese to good use? Everyone will be able to enjoy this delicious snack.

Whether or not you have a gluten allergy, everyone can enjoy this snack in your house. Having a guest over? Just fry these babies and open a bottle of wine!

Conclusion

Frigo string cheese is a popular snack even among people who have gluten allergy. It is naturally gluten free, i.e., none of its ingredients are gluten-containing. Besides, even though it is not tested or certified as gluten free, the brand still wants to help you eat healthy by naming ingredients clearly.

If you are severely allergic to gluten, it is advised that you check whether there’s any trace gluten present in Frigo string cheese to cause allergic reactions in you. For that, try the cheese in small amounts and observe yourself. You can test other gluten-free string cheese brands in the same way.

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Ksenija

Editor in Chief of Gluten Free Heroes, Ksenija brings years of experience in the media and nutrition fields. With a passion for healthy food and writing, she quickly became a dominant figure in the online blogging world. With Gluten Free Heroes she is in charge of keeping our message and content clear and on point.

Comments are closed.