- Usually made from the rear leg and rump or the brisket, corned beef is cured in a brine solution to which diverse seasonings are added.
- The brine solution in which beef is soaked in usually contains water, salt, and sugar. However, vinegar may also be added.
- The good news for celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers is that most traditional corned beef recipes are gluten free.
- Since corned beef can be easily made at home, putting your cooking skills to a test might not be such a bad idea.
Is corned beef gluten free? That’s the question of this article, and we will try and answer this simple question as best as we can. Corn beef by itself is gluten free as it’s basically just meat.
But you need to know about other things before you simply just put it in your mouth and that’s what this article is all about. Read on to learn more about gluten free corn beef.
Though the history of corned beef is rather uncertain and difficult to track, it became popular during WW1 and WW2 when the need to provide soldiers with unperishable food on the battlefield was more pressing than ever.
The key ingredient in famous recipes such as the Reuben sandwich, corned beef can be combined with practically anything: Swiss cheese, potatoes, cabbage, carrots, pasta, egg noodles, spinach, mayonnaise, etc.
Though corned beef is usually gluten-free, there are certain aspects that celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers should not overlook. But let’s take it step by step and see how you can make sure that the corned beef you are about to eat is safe.
Is Corned Beef Gluten Free – What is corned beef
Corned beef is a beef product that has been cured with salt. However, sugar and spices can be added for enhanced flavour.
Despite its delicious taste and protein-richness, you should keep in mind that corned beef is also high in cholesterol, fat, and sodium.
Usually made from the rear leg and rump or the brisket, corned beef is cured in a brine solution to which diverse seasonings are added. The result is a delicious and tender salty meat with a distinctive pink colour.
Is corned beef gluten free?
This is the tricky part. The brine solution in which beef is soaked in usually contains water, salt, and sugar. However, vinegar may also be added.
Unless you are making your own corned beef, you must pay attention to all the ingredients listed on the package and, if necessary, to the type of the used vinegar.
Some types of vinegar should be avoided by celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers.
White vinegar is usually derived from corn or rice, which makes it suitable for celiac and gluten-sensitive persons.
Nonetheless, vinegar can also be derived from wheat, barley or rye, which are gluten-containing grains.
If the vinegar has been distilled, it is gluten-free, regardless of the used grains. Non-distilled vinegars obtained from malt, wheat, rye, or are not gluten-free.
So make sure to carefully check the label before purchasing corned beef.
Known brands for gluten-free corned beef
Wegmans’ Uncured Corned Beef Brisket is gluten-free and lactose-free.
Apart from its cured beef, Wegmans also produces gluten-free Hot Dogs Uncured Beef.
All the corned beef products produced by Colorado Premium are gluten free.
Colorado Premium Corned Beef Brisket Ingredients:
- Sodium nitrite
- Sodium erythorbate
- Sodium phosphates
It is sugar-free, gluten-free, MSG-free, and contains no artificial ingredients.
All the corned beef produced by Freirich is gluten-free. Here you can find all the available varieties https://www.freirich.com/product-category/traditional-corned-beef/ , as well as various delicious recipes: https://www.freirich.com/recipe-category/traditional-corned-beef-recipes
Libby’s offers two gluten-free varieties of corned beef: Corned Beef and Corned Beef Hash.
Corned Beef ingredients:
- Cooked beef
- Sodium Nitrite
Corned Beef Hash ingredients:
- Cooked corned beef (cured with Sodium Nitrite, salt, and sugar)
- Rehydrated potatoes
- Sodium Metabisulfite
Contains less than 2% of: Sodium Nitrite, salt, sugar, Arabic Gum, natural flavors
Things to look out for
If you intend to purchase a type of corned beef that is not labelled as gluten-free, make sure to carefully check the ingredients, paying special attention to vinegars and seasonings.
Natural flavourings don’t usually contain gluten. However, if you have doubts, call the manufacturer’s customer support line and ask for additional information.
Since corned beef can be easily made at home, putting your cooking skills to a test might not be such a bad idea.
To sum up
The good news for celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers is that most traditional corned beef recipes are gluten free. While some brands specifically label their products as ‘gluten free,’ others don’t.
But that doesn’t mean that they are not gluten-free and safe to consume. So, before opting for a product, make sure to carefully read the ingredients listed on the package.
Being celiac or gluten-sensitive doesn’t mean you have to give up delicious foods. It’s just a matter of paying attention to what you are about to buy and ask for additional information when in doubt.
- Is pepperoni Gluten Free
What can be more tempting than a large pepperoni pizza and a can of coke on your table?
- Are Jack in the Box gluten free
One of the most popular food chains in the US, so many people eat there you would figure there would be gluten free options right?
- Does bacon have Gluten
When I stopped eating gluten this was one of the first questions I asked belive it or not.
- Do hot dogs have Gluten
As an avid hot dog fan, this was the most painful question I asked when going gluten free. I wanted to know straight up, do hot dogs have gluten or not?