Is Mustard Gluten Free? Mustard Seeds Are Naturally GF

is mustard gluten free
  • The mustard seed and plants are naturally gluten-free. However, if mixed with gluten-containing ingredients, the mustard in your grocery store may no longer be gluten-free. 
  • Some types of vinegar are not safe for people suffering from celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
  • Regardless of its source, distilled vinegar is gluten-free.
  • Since mustard pots are usually shared and gluten-containing products can be dipped in, we strongly recommend the use of squeeze bottles. 

Is mustard gluten free? When we started this website we wanted to make sure anyone who is looking for foods that he can eat that are gluten free can find them here with ease.

So this article will explain all the things you need to know about gluten free mustard and which brands are most popular. Follow us for more foods and recipes that will help you live a gluten free life.

A hot dog is not a real hot dog until you squeeze a little line of bright yellow mustard right on top of it. We are sure that you agree with us! You have carefully chosen and purchased your gluten-free hot dogs and buns.

The only thing left is to choose a gluten-free mustard. Fortunately, there are many gluten-free options out there!

Is mustard gluten free – What is mustard

Before it becomes the delicious condiment we all use to add flavor to our hot dogs, salads, and sauces, mustard starts out as white, black, or brown tiny seeds that slowly grow into mustard plants.

Mustard seeds are naturally gluten free
Mustard seeds are naturally gluten free. Image via alibaba

The tiny seeds mustard plants produce are harvested and crushed, forming a mustard powder that can be either used alone as a spice or can be turned into mustard.

Mustard is obtained by mixing the mustard powder with water, vinegar, wine, and other spices. 

Depending on the spices and liquids used when producing mustard, its flavor varies from mild to extremely spicy. The mix also influences the color of the mustard, which can range from gold to brown. 

Read More:  Does Baked Beans Have Gluten In Them? 4 Brands That are Safe

The mustard seed and plants are naturally gluten-free. However, if mixed with gluten-containing ingredients, the mustard in your grocery store may no longer be gluten-free. 

Ingredients of mustard

Mustard is available in a wide variety of flavors: yellow mustard, French mustard, honey mustard, beer mustard, Dijon, sweet mustard, etc. 

Depending on its flavor, it may contain sugar, honey, fruits, beer, vinegar etc. However, most mustards contain:

  • Mustard seeds
  • Water
  • Vinegar or wine
  • Salt

Further Reading:


Known gluten-free brands for mustard

Heinz

Heinz gluten free mustard
Mustard seeds are naturally gluten free. Image via link

All the varieties of mustards produced by Heinz mustards are gluten-free, except in Canada where the only mustards considered gluten-free is Heinz Yellow Mustard. According to Heinz, the vinegar they use in their mustards is derived from corn, not wheat. 

Heinz’s Yellow Mustard contains:

  • Distilled white vinegar
  • Salt
  • Mustard seed
  • Water
  • Natural flavor and spices
  • Turmeric

Here you can find all the available varieties: https://www.heinz.com/products/heinzmustard 

French’s

Gluten free french's mustard
French’s mustard contains less than 20ppm. Image via mccormick

Almost all French’s mustards are gluten-free to 20 ppm: 

• Classic yellow mustard

• Honey mustard dipping sauce

• Spicy brown mustard

• Horseradish mustard

• Honey Dijon

• Honey mustard

Though the vinegar is derived either from corn or ethanol, French’s recommends consumers to always check labels for up to date information: “Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens. […] If any product has a Gluten Free claim, the product and the manufacturing line has been validated Gluten Free.”

French’s Classic Yellow Mustard contains: 

  • 1st-grade mustard seeds
  • Distilled vinegar
  • Salt
  • Turmeric
  • Water
  • Natural flavors
  • Spice
  • Paprika
  • Garlic powder

Here you can find all the available varieties: https://www.mccormick.com/frenchs/products 

Organicville

Is mustard free of gluten
Organicville is gluten free. Image via foodservicedirect

The gluten-free varieties produced by Organicville are: Yellow Mustard, Organic Stone Ground Mustard, and Dijon Mustard. Certified as a gluten-free company, Organicville uses vinegar derived from corn or cane.  

Read More:  Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten-Free? Complete Guide for the Brand

For instance, its Dijon Mustard is labeled as certified organic, gluten-free, vegan, and Whole30. 

It contains:

  • Organic mustard seeds
  • Water
  • Organic vinegar
  • Organic spices
  • Salt
  • Organic turmeric

Annie’s Naturals

Is mustard gluten free
Annie’s Naturals mustard is gluten free. Image via Kmart

Annie’s Organic puts at its customers’ disposal a varied range of mustards: Honey Mustard, Organic Dijon Mustard, Organic Yellow Mustard, Lite Honey Mustard Vinaigrette, and Organic Horseradish Mustard.

All these varieties are considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. According to the company, the vinegar is derived from corn or beets. 

Annie’s Organic Yellow Mustard contains:

  • Distilled white vinegar
  • Mustard seeds
  • Water
  • Sea salt
  • Paprika
  • Turmeric
  • Clove

This mustard is:

• Certified Organic

• Gluten free

• Contains no preservatives, artificial flavors, or synthetic colors 

• Only non-GMO ingredients

Things to look out for

Distilled vinegar is gluten-free

Though muster seeds are naturally gluten/free, mustard is obtained by adding a series of ingredients. One of the ingredients you need to pay special attention to is vinegar.

Some types of vinegar are not safe for people suffering from celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Most mustard manufacturers use white vinegar derived from corn or rice. However, vinegar can also be derived from gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley or rye. 

Regardless of its source, distilled vinegar is gluten-free. What the distillation process does is filtering and removing all the large gluten proteins, the finished liquid thus becoming gluten-free. 

Non-distilled vinegars obtained from wheat, rye, or barley – including malt vinegar – are not gluten-free.  

Cross-contamination

When it comes to mustard, cross-contamination during manufacturing should not be your only concern. Since mustard pots are usually shared and gluten-containing products can be dipped in, we strongly recommend the use of squeeze bottles. 

To sum up

Just like with any other product deemed gluten-free, reading the label and carefully checking out all the ingredients is of vital importance. Here are some tips you can put in practice to make sure the mustard you are about to purchase is safe to eat:

Read More:  Is Sesame Oil Gluten Free

• Check if the product is ‘Gluten Free’ certified. If you can’t find the label, make sure to check the list of ingredients as it might still be gluten-free.

• If the used vinegar is distilled and you can’t find any other gluten-containing ingredients, you are safe to buy it.

• Pay special attention to mustards containing white vinegar. If it is not distilled, ask for additional information from the manufacturer because it may contain gluten. 

• Red wine vinegar, rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar, cane vinegar, and balsamic vinegar are gluten-free. 

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.