Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten Free. Nutrition Facts and More

is marshmallow fluff gluten free
  • Marshmallow fluff – also commonly known as marshmallow crème – is a marshmallow confectionery spread that has been tempting kids and adults since 1917.
  • Marshmallow fluff does not contain many ingredients. Commercial marshmallow fluff basically contains sweeteners and emulsifying agents.
  • Most marshmallow manufacturers have replaced wheat starch with corn starch making their products gluten-free.
  • Usually, gluten-free products are clearly labelled as such. However, if the gluten-free label is missing, you can always check the ingredients list and call the manufacturer for further information on ambiguous ingredients.

Is marshmallow fluff gluten free? This is like the most important question any kid with celiac or gluten sensitivity will ask. On paper, there isn’t any gluten in marshmallow fluff, but like any other processed food, you should read carefully the ingredients and know the brand you’re buying from.

In this article, we will try and answer the question if marshmallow fluff is gluten free and also give you a few brands that we know are free of gluten.

A versatile treat, marshmallow fluff is a synonym of childhood pleasures! Used alone or combined with peanut butter, marshmallow fluff sandwiches are a sure hit for kids and adults alike. And the sweetest part is that marshmallow fluff is generally gluten-free. 

Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten Free – What is marshmallow fluff

Marshmallow fluff does not normally contain gluten. Image via flicker

Marshmallow fluff – also commonly known as marshmallow crème – is a marshmallow confectionery spread that has been tempting kids and adults since 1917. Though its taste is similar to that of regular solid marshmallow, its texture is sticky and soft. 

Ingredients of marshmallow fluff

Technically aerated candies and usually gluten-free, most marshmallow fluffs are made of:

• Egg whites

• Sugar syrup

• Corn syrup

• Vanilla flavour

As you can see, marshmallow fluff does not contain many ingredients. Commercial marshmallow fluff basically contains sweeteners and emulsifying agents. 

Corn starch, water, gum, modified food starch, and/or whipped egg whites are used in different combinations to provide the fluff the desired texture and maintain fat distribution.  

Read More:  Is Apple Cider Gluten Free?

Some marshmallow fluffs also contain artificial flavouring. A coloured marshmallow fluff is a clear indicator that an artificial colouring agent has been used. 


Further Reading:


Known gluten-free brands for marshmallow fluff

Durkee Mower

Durkee Mower marshmallow fluff

The official American Fluffmakers – as they advertise themselves – Durkee Mower is compromised with quality. Their marshmallow fluff is not only gluten-free but also manufactured in a nut free facility. Their marshmallow fluff is available in two flavors: Marshmallow Fluff and Strawberry Fluff.

Below you can find all the necessary nutritional information: 

Marshmallow Fluff

Ingredients:

  • Egg white
  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Vanillin

Trader Joe’s

Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten Free. Nutrition Facts and More
Trader Joe’s offers many marshmallow treats. Image via iStock

Trader Joe’s marshmallows range is free from GMO ingredients, artificial flavours, added colours, gluten-free, and gelatin-free, making them suitable for gluten-intolerant, celiac, vegan, and kosher consumers.  

Though they don’t produce marshmallow fluff, they do have a wide range of marshmallow treats. Check out their selection of marshmallow treats on their website: https://www.traderjoes.com 

Kraft’s Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Crème

Kraft marshmallow fluff gluten free. Image via kraft

Though generally acknowledged by the celiac community as a gluten-free product, Kraft’s Jet-Puffed Marshmallow Crème does not bear the gluten-free label.

Which makes us think that cross-contamination could happen. However, none of its ingredients contains gluten. Moreover, according to Kraft’s policy, all allergens are clearly stated on the label. 

Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Corn syrup
  • Sugar
  • Less than 2% of dried eggs whites
  • Artificial & natural flavour
  • Cream of tartar
  • Xanthan gum

Allergens and Nutritional Considerations: Eggs, Added Sugars

Doumak 

Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten Free. Nutrition Facts and More
Image via linkedin

Around since 1921, Doumak Inc. can be considered the father of this amazing treat. With a clear goal in mind and compromised with quality, Doumak boasts to deliver ‘the best quality and freshest, softest marshmallow in the world’. According to their allergen statement, all their products are fat-free and gluten-free. 

All their products are free from:

Things to look out for

Some marshmallows contain wheat starch or glucose syrup. As you may have guessed already, they ARE NOT gluten-free. However, most marshmallow manufacturers have replaced wheat starch with corn starch making their products gluten-free. 

At the end of the day, checking the label thoroughly is the only way to make sure that the marshmallows you are about to buy are safe to eat.

Here is a brief list of ingredients to be avoided:

  • Wheat protein
  • Wheat starch
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Wheat flour
  • Triticum vulgare
  • Triticum spelta
  • Malt
  • Hordeum vulgare
  • Secale cereal

Usually, gluten-free products are clearly labelled as such. However, if the gluten-free label is missing, you can always check the ingredients list and call the manufacturer for further information on ambiguous ingredients such as: 

  • Natural flavourings & Colourings
  • Vegetable protein
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed protein
  • Artificial flavor
  • Dextrin
  • Maltodextrin

Depending on what they are derived from, they can contain gluten. So better be safe than sorry!

As far as cross-contamination is concerned, it can happen! Even if a marshmallow brand is labelled as gluten-free, if it is packaged or manufactured in a factory that also produces gluten-containing products, cross-contamination is more than likely to occur. 

Though these products only contain traces of gluten and can be well tolerated by gluten-sensitive consumers, people who suffer from celiac disease should definitely avoid them. 

To sum up

Most marshmallow brands take pride in delivering products that are free from gluten. However, in order to make sure that the product you are about to buy is gluten-free, carefully check the label and don’t be afraid to call the company’s helpline if you have any doubts about any of the listed ingredients. Moreover, this delicious treat can be easily made at home. 

You May Also Like

About the Author: Nir Alony