- Captain Crunch is NOT gluten-free!
- Captain Crunch products line contains oat flour. Unless certified as gluten-free oats – which is not the case with Cap’n Crunch – oat flour is usually contaminated with wheat, making it unsuitable for celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers.
- If you are celiac or gluten-intolerant, then you should know there are gluten-free cereals whose taste is equally impressive.
- As always, before purchasing any type of cereal, make sure to check the packaging for the gluten-free label and carefully check out all the ingredients if the label is missing.
Is Captain Crunch gluten free? That’s the real question here because it’s one of the most popular cereal brands of all time, and people with celiac usually really want to know the answer to this question.
So the tldr response is: NO, Captain Crunch is NOT gluten free.
An old naval captain with a white moustache, white eyebrows, a bicorne hat with a “C” blazon, and a blue coat with gold epaulettes. Does this ring a bell? If you are ready to reclaim your crunch time but you are not sure if the Captain Crunch line is safe for celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers, we are here to clear out – hopefully – all your doubts.
Is Captain Crunch gluten free – What is Captain Crunch
Around since 1963, Cap’n Crunch is produced by Quaker Oats Company, which has become a division of PepsiCo in 2001. The product line consists of delicious corn and oat breakfast cereals that are produced using an innovative baking process.
Though an impressive number of consumers define Captain Crunch as the best-tasting cereals ever, if you suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you should avoid this brand.
Captain Crunch is NOT gluten-free!
The Cap’n Crunch products line contains oat flour. Unless certified as gluten-free oats – which is not the case with Cap’n Crunch – oat flour is usually contaminated with wheat, making it unsuitable for celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers.
On its official website, the manufacturer clearly explains the reasons why their products are not labeled as gluten-free. According to them, their suppliers handle and transport oats in bulk, raising the chances of cross-contamination.
If the vehicles have previously transported gluten-containing grains, the oats may contain trace amounts of the respective grains. Even if Cap’s Crunch doesn’t use rye, wheat, and barley, their products cannot safely be labeled as gluten-free.
Tasty gluten-free alternatives to Cap’n Crunch
We know that starting your day with a bowl of crunchy and sweet cereals is one of those life’s pleasures you find difficult to deny yourselves.
In a Cap’n Crunch mood? No worries! If you are celiac or gluten-intolerant, then you should know there are gluten-free cereals whose taste is equally impressive.
- Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free And Known Gluten Free Mayo Brands
- Is Honey Gluten Free? Honey Info And Facts Inside
Barbara’s Honey Rice Puffins
Though not the entire product line is gluten-free, you have quite a few delicious choices. Here is a list of safe products:
• Honey Rice Puffins Cereal
• Berry Burst Protein Puffins Cereal
• Multigrain Puffins Cereal
• Corn Flakes Cereal
• Honest O’s Multigrain Cereal
Fruity Pebbles & Cocoa Pebbles
Made from rice and with a reduced sugar amount, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are gluten-free certified.
Fruity Pebbles ingredients and nutrition facts:
Cocoa Pebbles ingredients and nutrition facts:
Chocolate Honey Bunches of Oats
Manufactured by Post Foods, Chocolate Honey Bunches of Oats is a tantalizing mix of real cocoa and gluten-free oats. A rich source of minerals and vitamins, these cereals contain:
Honey Nut Cheerios
A gluten-free alternative to the original product, Honey Nut Cheerios boasts the same addictive honey taste. It contains:
Other gluten-free Cheerios options: Original, Multi-grain, Frosted Cheerios, and Apple Cinnamon.
Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten Free
Another tasty alternative, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten Free Cereal is made from whole grain brown rice.
Ingredients and nutrition facts:
To sum up
Though Cap’n Crunch is NOT gluten-free and should, hence, be avoided by celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers, there are other available gluten-free options that are equally nutritious and tasty.
As always, before purchasing any type of cereal, make sure to check the packaging for the gluten-free label and carefully check out all the ingredients if the label is missing.
Looking for additional information on specific brands on specialized websites or online celiac communities will not only save you time but it will also help you make informed decisions.
- Are Quaker oats Gluten Free
Why are Quaker Oats not gluten free? Oats have recently joined the bandwagon of health foods; few were aware of its health benefits a decade ago
- Is marshmallow fluff gluten free
This is like the most important question any kid with celiac or gluten sensitivity will ask
- Are Starnurst Gluten Free
Are Starburst Minis gluten free? Is there any possibility of cross-contamination of gluten substances? Are all flavors of Mars’ Starbursts gluten free?
- Are Haribo Gummy Bears Gluten Free
Are the tasty Haribo Gummy Bears gluten free? Unfortunately, just like many other jelly products and chewy candies, Haribo Gummy Bears are not gluten free.