Is Jim Beam Gluten Free

  • Jim Beam is an American bourbon whiskey brand that has started to write its history of excellence back in 1795.
  • But is Jim Beam gluten free? Well, yes and … no.
  • It is generally accepted that distilled vinegars and distilled alcohol are technically gluten-free because of the distillation process that removes impurities such as gluten.
  • Taking into consideration that adverse reactions have been reported by consumers suffering from severe gluten intolerance, we strongly recommend you to opt for other gluten-free alcoholic beverages that are 100% safe.

Is Jim Beam gluten free? Any person who loves a good glass of whisky from time to time may ask himself this question if he has celiac or suffers from a gluten allergy. In this article we will discuss Jim Beam and answer the question whether or not it is gluten free and safe to drink.

One of the most famous bourbon whiskey brands in the world, Jim Beam can currently be purchased in over 200 countries around the globe.

What makes Jim Beam bourbon whiskey so special? Maybe the fact that the aging process lasts twice longer than the 2 years legally required.

Or maybe it’s the secret recipe. But the truth is that Jim Beam has turned into an American tradition. 

But is Jim Beam gluten free? Well, yes and … no. Technically, the distillation process removes the gluten protein. So we could say that Jim Beam IS gluten free.

However, if you are celiac or suffer from severe gluten-intolerance, it is advisable to avoid Jim Beam and look for other 100% safe alcoholic alternatives. 

Is Jim Beam Gluten Free – What is Jim Beam

is Jim Beam gluten free
via AP Photo/Jeff Chiu, File

Produced by Beam Suntory in Clermont, Kentucky, Jim Beam is an American bourbon whiskey brand that has started to write its history of excellence back in 1795. 

Related: Is Southern Comfort gluten free | Is Captain Morgan gluten free

Read More:  Is Olive Oil Gluten Free? Info, Recipes and Popular Brands

The history of the delicious liquid that we all know as Jim Beam® Bourbon started in 1975 as Old Tub® Bourbon and was produced at the Old Tub Distillery.

When the Prohibition ended in 1934 and the distillery re-opened, Jim Beam discovered that he had lost the right to use the Old Tub® Bourbon name.

But he didn’t get discouraged and rebuilt the brand under the name “Colonel James B. Beam”, which later on became “Jim Beam® Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey”.  And that’s how this delicious adventure started. 

For over 220 years, Jim Beam hasn’t altered the original mash bill and used the exact same proportion of barley, corn, and rye. What’s more, the distillery has been using the same yeast colony for the past 75 years.  

Ingredients

According to its manufacturers, making Jim Beam bourbon goes beyond a simple production process. It is art.

Jim Beam is made by fermenting and distilling a secret mix of corn, malted barley, and rye. Jim Beam meets and exceeds the following criteria stipulated by law:

• Product from a fermented mash of at least 51% corn 

• No additives

• Distilled at no more than 160 proof

• Aged for minimum two years (Jim Beam is aged for 4 years)

•Made in the USA

•Stored in new, charred oak barrels at no more than 125 proof 

If you want to learn more about how Jim Beam is made, you can read about each step of the process here

What to look out for

We have seen that Jim Beam is produced from a mix of corn, malted barley, and rye and we know that barley and rye are gluten-containing grains.

However, it is generally accepted that distilled vinegars and distilled alcohol are technically gluten free because of the distillation process that removes impurities such as gluten.

Read More:  Is Crisco Gluten Free

So we can safely assume that Jim Beam IS gluten free. However, taking into consideration that adverse reactions have been reported by consumers suffering from severe gluten intolerance, we strongly recommend you to opt for other gluten-free alcoholic beverages that are 100% safe.

To sum up

Jim Beam is a high-quality bourbon whiskey brand whose story begins over 200 years ago. The secret formula used to achieve the uniquely flavored bourbon is a mix of corn, malted barley, and rye.

Nonetheless, the distillation process technically removes all gluten traces, making Jim Beam suitable for gluten-sensitive consumers. Since adverse reactions have been reported by celiac and severely gluten-intolerant consumers, we recommend caution. 

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.