Is Captain Morgan Rum Gluten Free

  • Captain Morgan – a famous brand for rum is made from distilled sugarcane. 
  • Captain Morgan claims that its Original spiced rum is gluten-free, but its other flavored rum options are not. 
  • Flavored rum options of Captain Morgan Rum have flavors and additives that contain gluten and should be avoided. 
  • Cross-contamination is possible where companies produce gluten-free products alongside others that contain gluten ingredients. Their gluten-free rum has not been tested for trace gluten and may affect people with extreme cases of gluten intolerance.

Is Captain Morgan rum gluten free? Celiac people who love to drink alcohol should always check with the beverage companies about their ingredients as alcohol brands are not obligated to display allergy warnings on their products.

People with gluten allergies have to be cautious while choosing their alcohol because of possible gluten ingredients, especially in flavored alcohol options.

Many people are confused about whether the famous brand, Captain Morgan, has gluten-free options in their collection of rums. Today you can find out whether rum flavors are safe for consumption for people with gluten intolerance. 

Rum is a distilled alcoholic drink made from sugarcane juice or molasses. Captain Morgan Rum is readily available in markets, and their original spiced rum is considered to be gluten free. FDA has also approved it. 

Ideally, it tastes best when served on the rocks, and typically used with coke or mixed in cocktails. Captain Morgan is a brand known to all. Its famous slogan, “Live like the Captain!” is part of Captain Morgan’s marketing campaigns since 2017.

It is named after Henry Morgan, Welsh privateer of the Caribbean, who died on 25 August 1688. 

So is there gluten in Captain Morgan Rum? 

Is Captain Morgan Rum Gluten Free – What is Captain Morgan Rum

is captain morgan rum gluten free
via MONTICELLO/SHUTTERSTOCK

 Campaign Morgan is a popular household brand by a British alcohol conglomerate, Diageo. The rum it produces is made from distilled alcohol and sugarcane juices or molasses.

Read More:  Are Tic Tacs Gluten Free. Flavors and Info About the Breath Mint

It can be found in almost all bars around the world, and bartenders usually mix it in a variety of cocktails or coke on the rocks.

Usually, rums, in its original form, do not contain gluten as it is a distilled alcohol made from sugarcane or molasses, and has no gluten ingredients. However, companies may add ingredients and extra flavors that can contain gluten.

The company’s Original Spiced Rum is non-flavored and considered to be gluten-free. Their flavored rums, however, range from coconut to grapefruit and contain gluten ingredients. 

Captain Morgan Original Spiced Rum is distilled and made from molasses, water, and a combination of yeasts for fermentation. After distillation and in the final stages of its production, flavors and spices are added to the rum, which gives it its color, taste, and aroma. The spices used in the rum are indigenous to the Caribbean Islands.

Alcohol companies are also not required to disclose allergens. Therefore, it can be hard for people to determine whether their rum is gluten-free or not. 

Ingredients

Captain Morgan’s Original Spiced Rum is a blend of rum from Puerto Rica spices, and additional flavors, which includes apricots, vanilla, fig, and some cassia. The added flavors and spices give the rum its honey color and texture. 

The volume of alcohol in Captain Morgan’s rum is 35 percent (24.5 Alcohol units).

Captain Morgan’s variety of products includes the following:

  • Original Spiced Rum
  • Coconut Tum
  • Watermelon Smash
  • Apple Smash
  • Cannon Blast
  • Pineapple Rum
  • Jack-o’blast
  • Loconut
  • Black Spiced
  • Grapefruit Rum
  • 100 proof spiced
  • White Rum
  • Long Island Iced Tea
  • Private Stock

Things to Look Out For


The distillation process may not be free of contamination in gluten-free original rums as well. If the facility used by Captain Morgan is the same for its gluten-free rum and flavored rum, it may be at risk of contamination. 

Read More:  Is Smuckers Caramel Gluten Free? Info, Alternatives & Recipes

It is always advisable to contact Captain Morgan management for more details on their production process to ensure that you are consuming gluten-free rum.

Famous Gluten Free Rum Brands Like Captain Morgan

You must be wondering whether other rum brands have gluten free options. Apart from Captain Morgan, following are some of the global brands which you will find in bars and clubs, that makes gluten free rums:

Bacardi: One of the most popular rum brands in the US, Bacardi, has several gluten free rum options. Gluten free rum flavors offered by the brand include Superior, Bacardi 8 (Ocho), Gold, Select Bacardi 151, and all their flavored rum options.

Even though it has been discontinued, but Bacardi Silver contains gluten ingredients, so make sure you check the label and ingredients before purchasing.

Cruzan: This company has several original and flavored options of rum. Their plain rum should ideally not have any gluten ingredients and can be safe for consumption.

However, the company does not claim or label its original rum as gluten-free. 

Mount Gay Rum: This brand has five gluten-free rum options: Eclipse, Silver, Master Select, Extra Old. These are all original non-flavored rums. 

Myers’s Rum: This Jamaican brand produces rum from pure molasses. It is plain and non-flavored and considered to be gluten-free. 

Rondiaz: The company, owned by Prestige Beverages Group, has different variations of flavored and non-flavored rums. The plain rum produced by the brand, including dark rum and gold rum, are gluten-free.

Since the company does not disclose allergens, flavored options may contain gluten ingredients.

There you have it, now you know is Captain Morgan rum gluten free or not. Don’t forget to check out this article about if there is gluten in Brandy or not

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Diana

Foodie at heart, ever since I discovered I had Celiac, I completely changed my diet and eating habits, I enjoy writing and reading about recipes and actually cooking for my family

Comments are closed.