Is Apple Cider Gluten Free?

  • Cider is naturally gluten-free and can be safely consumed by celiac and gluten-intolerant people.
  • Alcoholic cider is obtained by fermenting apple juice with sugar and yeast. The yeast that is usually used in cider fermentation is naturally gluten-free. However, it may sometimes contain gluten.
  • Though apple cider is naturally gluten-free, cross-contamination may occur if the cider is processed in facilities in which gluten-containing beverages are brewed or bottled.
  • If the apple cider you are about to drink is not labeled as gluten-free, it is advisable to take your time and make further research before drinking it.

Is apple cider gluten free? The fruity fresh drink that many people love and automatically assume is without gluten are actually right! Apple cider is in fact gluten free! So all you celiac people can drink away and be sure you’re safe. If you want to learn more about apple cider, read on.

A sweet and crispy autumn beverage, apple cider is a versatile treat that can be served cold, hot, alone, or in combination with other alcoholic drinks.

Whether you decide to drink it as it is or you add clove, cinnamon, other juices, or even caramel, apple cider makes the perfect addition to your autumn menu!

And the best part is that cider is naturally gluten-free and can be safely consumed by celiac and gluten-intolerant people. However, there are several aspects you should pay attention to: cross-contamination, additives, flavoring, etc.

Is Apple Cider Gluten Free – What is apple cider

Apple cider is a non-alcoholic drink made from raw apple juice. The apple juice is obtained by pressing ripe apples. The main difference between apple juice and apple cider is that apple juice is always filtered and heated before bottling, while the apple cider is often served unfiltered.

The most common apple varieties used to make apple cider are: Jonagold, Fuji, Gala, and Pink lady. To obtain a more acidic taste, there are sharper varieties of apple that can be used: McIntosh, Granny Smith, Cortland, etc.

Read More:  Do Hot Dogs Have Gluten. Info and Popular Brands

Apple cider can be raw or it can be filtered to remove pulp. It can also be pasteurized or unpasteurized. Beware: if the cider is unpasteurized, it will start to ferment and will eventually turn into apple cider vinegar or alcohol-containing hard cider.

Is apple cider gluten free?

Alcoholic cider (i.e. hard cider) is normally naturally gluten-free, making a great alternative to gluten-containing beers. Alcoholic cider is obtained by fermenting apple juice with sugar and yeast.

The yeast that is usually used in cider fermentation is naturally gluten-free. However, it may sometimes contain gluten. So make sure the apple cider you are about to purchase does not contain brewing beer yeast.  

Similarly, raw cider is almost always gluten-free. But, if you want to play safe, always keep an eye on labels. 

Known brands for gluten-free apple cider

If you are looking for a gluten-free alternative to alcoholic beverages or you simply love apples and apple cider, the market is currently offering a generous variety of gluten-free options.

Appletiser

100% sparkling fruit juice, Appletiser is a non-alcoholic delicious cider that contains no preservatives, no added sugar, and no colorants. 

Ingredients:

100% Carbonated Apple Juice from Concentrate

Nutrition facts:

Preparation and Usage

Serve chilled

Lifestyle

  • Suitable for Vegans and Vegetarians

Allergy advice

This product is allergen free:

  • Free From Celery
  • Free From Gluten & Gluten-containing Cereals 
  • Free From Eggs
  • Free From Sulphur Dioxide/Sulphites
  • Free From Peanuts
  • Free From Lupin

Additives

  • Free From Genetically Modified Ingredients
  • Free From Preservatives
  • Free From Mustard
  • Free From Sesame
  • Free From Milk
  • Free From Crustaceans
  • Free From Fish & Molluscs
  • Free From Soya
  • Free From Nuts

Woodchuck Hard Cider – Granny Smith

Made of 100% Granny Smith apples, this cider offers a refreshing sharp crisp taste. Woodchuck offers a wide variety of delicious apple ciders.

Read More:  Are Tic Tacs Gluten Free. Flavors and Info About the Breath Mint

If you want to find out more about how their cider is made and all the available varieties, make sure to visit their official website. And the best part is that all their hard cider is gluten-free.

Though it is not gluten-free certified, Woodchuck cider contains only gluten-free ingredients, is produced in a gluten-free facility, and undergoes continuous testing for gluten in an independent laboratory.

Angry Orchard

gluten free apple cider brands
via binnys

As they claim, their cider is real cider, made by real people from real apples. Angry Orchard offers a wide variety of fruit ciders and delicious mixes. Here you can check them all out: https://www.angryorchard.com/our-ciders

In their FAQ section, Angry Orchard clearly states that their ciders are naturally gluten free. What’s more, they continuously test their equipment to make sure there is no cross-contamination.

Their Crisp Apple Hard Cider contains:

  • Apple Juice from Concentrate
  • Hard Cider
  • Cane Sugar
  • Water
  • Honey
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Carbon Dioxide & Sulfites to Preserve Freshness

Nutrition Facts:

is apple cider gluten free

ACE Cider

Offering 12 cider styles, ACE ciders boast lower sugars and calories than most available ciders on the market. And they are all gluten-free. If you want to take a look at the available varieties, you can find them all here.  

ACE Joker Cider nutrition facts:

Things to look out for

Though apple cider is naturally gluten-free, cross-contamination may occur if the cider is processed in facilities in which gluten-containing beverages are brewed or bottled. 

Sometimes gluten-based yeast is used in the fermentation process. Hence, some hard apple ciders may contain traces of gluten. Though the gluten content is usually low, these hard ciders are not completely gluten-free and should be avoided by celiac and people suffering from severe gluten-intolerance. 

If the apple cider you are about to drink is not labeled as gluten-free, it is advisable to take your time and make further research before drinking it (e.g. carefully read the label, visit forums, and even call the manufacturer’s helpline). 

Read More:  Is Frigo String Cheese Gluten Free? Info and Recipes

To sum up

Whether you are celiac, gluten-intolerant, or you simply want to switch to a gluten-free diet as a lifestyle option, apple cider makes a great choice. Apple cider is naturally gluten-free.

However, since it may contain traces of gluten or may be subject to cross-contamination, we highly recommend to carefully check the labels before drinking it (especially if it is not labeled as gluten-free). Or, if you prefer, you can make your own delicious gluten-free apple cider!

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.