Is Nutella Gluten Free. Facts and Popular Alternatives

  • Nutella is a popular chocolate-and-hazelnut spread by Fererro. 
  • Bread, pancakes, waffles, and crepes can be topped with Nutella.
  • This spread does not contain any gluten-containing ingredient.
  • Nutella is not certified as a gluten free product.

Is Nutella gluten free? Please let the answer be YES, as I would not make it without my favorite chocolate spread. Let’s read on and learn about the famous chocolate product

We all love a touch of sweetness in our lives every now and then, don’t we? With Nutella, though, it’s more than just sweet.

It’s nutty, chocolaty, and oh-so-delicious! The gooey spread can transform a simple piece of bread, pancake, waffle, and crepe. It’s everyone’s favorite. But is Nutella gluten free?

The chocolate and nut-filled spread does not contain gluten grains. People with gluten allergy and celiac disease can usually have Nutella without noticing allergic reactions, barry a few cases.

But Nutella does not bear any label to prove that’s gluten free, nor does the brand claim to be so. 

Editor’s note:  While Nutella doesn’t have an official Gluten Free label, at least in my country of Israel, it is widely known that Nutella is in fact gluten free and safe to consume by celiac people. Please do NOT take this statement as medical advice and consult with your doctor before deciding. 

Is it safe to have Nutella if you’re allergic to gluten? Find out more about this jar of deliciousness!

Is Nutella Gluten Free? What is Nutella

is nutella gluten free

There are very few people who do not like chocolate, and most of them are socially boycotted.

Chocolate usually makes a heavenly combination of flavors when paired with nuts. That’s why Nutella is popular.

It is a divine marriage of chocolate and hazelnuts, in which hazelnuts add crunchy, buttery goodness. 

It’s the world’s favorite spread. The truly crazy fans will even dip fruits into Nutella like a dip – or just stick their fingers into the bottle and enjoy it.

This spread is probably an essential part of your grocery list. But is it safe for you to consume Nutella if you are allergic to gluten or have celiac disease?     

Nutella is primarily made of chocolate and hazelnuts. It also contains palm oil, sugar, and milk.

None of these key ingredients come from gluten grains. So, it can be assumed that Nutella is made of naturally gluten free ingredients.

Most people with gluten-sensitivity have faced no allergic reactions from it. 

In general, it’s safe for you to consume. But if you’re highly sensitive to gluten and fall ill easily due to trace gluten, you should rethink before consuming Nutella.

Some people with a severe allergic condition have reported allergic reactions after taking Nutella. There can be many possible reasons behind this.

Besides the key ingredients in Nutella, the spread also contains additives like emulsifiers and flavoring agents.

It is possible that these additives contain gluten, and it is not mandatory for brands to test or reveal if these ingredients have gluten, especially if they don’t claim to produce gluten free products.

Nutella’s manufacturing company, i.e., Ferrero, doesn’t make claims in the marketing campaigns that it is gluten free.

Besides, even though its key ingredients are free from gluten, the product is not certified as gluten free.

This means that Nutella is not tested for gluten content to check if it is completely safe. 

Only a proper test confirms that the final product does not contain more than 20 ppm of gluten.

Since Nutella is not tested, it is possible that the additives in it contain gluten.

It is also possible that it has trace gluten as a result of cross-contamination during manufacturing, storage, or processing. 

Cross-contamination can occur if facilities used to produce, store, or process Nutella are also used for the production of other items that contain gluten. In that case, Nutella might contain trace gluten. The additives in Nutella can also be the source of gluten because of their composition or trace gluten. 

In most cases, trace gluten should not hurt you. Nutella is also consumed by people with celiac disease and gluten allergy without any problem.

It is possible that those who face reactions to eating Nutella are either suffering from a serious case of gluten allergy or are allergic to the other ingredients in Nutella. 

Nutella contains dairy bits, soy products, and of course, nuts. All of these can cause allergic reactions in many people.

If you have not yet been diagnosed with any allergy other than gluten intolerance, it may seem like Nutella has gluten, when actually, you’re reacting to the other allergens in the spread.

Nutella and Palm Oil

While everyone loves Nutella, some people avoid it like the plague because it contains palm oil.

Whether you are strictly conscious of everything you put into your mouth or strict about how your food choices impact the world, palm oil present in Nutella might deter you from buying Nutella. 

The palm oil used in your favorite spread is not hydrogenated. It is extracted from palm fruits in a natural way.

At the time of manufacturing Nutella, the palm oil used in it undergoes adjustments to reduce the saturated fat content in it.

This gives Nutella a creamy consistency that makes it easy to spread. 

Besides the health factor, there’s also the environmental factor. However, the manufacturer of Nutella, i.e., Ferrero, is a member of the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil, i.e., RSPO.

It supports the responsible usage of the oil. For making Nutella, only palm oil derived from controlled plantations is used. 

Is Nutella Healthy?

Gluten or no gluten, palm oil concern, or otherwise – Nutella is hugely popular because of its taste, smell, and texture.

All the deliciousness comes from simple ingredients, and the key ingredients are not gluten-rich.

However, it is also a fact that Nutella is not exactly healthy or nutritious. Here’s why:

  1. Nutella contains additives that we don’t know anything about. These can cause health concerns. 
  2. There’s sugar in it, which is the main ingredient. Sugar can cause obesity, heart disease, etc.
  3. Palm oil is also not an ideal fat as it is known to lead to heart diseases and cholesterol. 
  4. Powdered milk can lead to heart conditions. It can also trigger allergic reactions.
  5. Soy lecithin, used as an emulsifier, adds soy content – a major concern for those who are allergic. 

If we’re being honest here, the sugar content is probably not a big concern for you if you’re not exactly calorie-conscious and counting everything you eat.

It is also true that Nutella uses non-hydrogenated oil with reduced saturated fat, making it a little healthier than the regularly used version of the oil.

However, if you consider Nutella as a whole, it cannot really be counted as a healthy food.

Sure, it contains nutrient-rich hazelnuts and healthy cocoa powder. But the other ingredients put together do not really give you something that you should consume in large amounts on a regular basis, either.   

Nutella Alternatives That Are Labelled Gluten Free

If you are new to the gluten free lifestyle, it is important for you to know that at the time of buying foods and beverages, you should always try to pick those which mention “Gluten Free” or “GF” on the labels.

The gluten free status of a product can also be represented by the symbol of a struck out wheat. 

Only products that have been tested for gluten content and found to have less than the permissible limit of gluten, i.e., 20 ppm, are allowed to flaunt the “gluten free” status on their containers.

It also suggests that the manufacturing facilities are also free from gluten, and there’s no chance of cross-contamination.

Nutella does not have this label because it has not been tested. In fact, Ferrero does not make any misleading claims about this, either.

So, if you want to ensure that the chocolate-hazelnut spread that you will consume every morning does not contain gluten, choose products that can flaunt the label.

Here are a few gluten free alternatives to Nutella:

a) Nature’s Store

If you’re looking for an alternative to Nutella, the hazelnut and cocoa spread by Nature’s store should be one of your first choices.

It flaunts the gluten free label on the container to tell you that if you are allergic to gluten, you can consume this spread without having to worry about allergic reactions. 

This spread is not just free from gluten content. It also does not contain any artificial coloring or flavoring agents.

All additives in this spread are natural, and the cocoa content is low in fat. As for the oil used in it – there’s a mix of rapeseed and palm oils. There are a few allergens like soy, milk, and nuts.  

b) Nutiva Organic

The choco-hazelnut spread by Nutiva Organic is one of the healthiest products among its competitors.

It is not only marked gluten free but is also free from GMO and has lower sugar than most of the other spreads.

It is hugely popular because it’s certified vegan. Naturally, it is also free from dairy content. 

If you are particular about eating organic foods only, this spread needs to be on your grocery list. The brand works with organic farmers to source healthy ingredients.

So, it can fit into any diet plan as a sweet indulgence. The palm oil used in it comes from Ecuador, which doesn’t cause environmental harm.

c) Justin’s 

Justin’s takes your favorite chocolate spread to a new level by adding almond nuts to the mix of chocolate and hazelnuts.

This spread is gluten free and safe for you. In addition, this butter is free from cholesterol and trans fat. Altogether, you get a healthy alternative to Nutella with this one. 

In addition to giving you a healthy chocolate and nut spread, Justin’s is also concerned with providing something that does not harm the environment.

For instance, the container in which it comes is a recyclable one. The ingredients in it are also responsibly sourced, keeping sustainability in mind.   

d) Elliot’s

Elliot’s range of nut butter includes some delicious combos and flavors, including the Oregon Chocolate Hazelnut spread that can serve as an alternative to Nutella.

The product proudly flaunts its “gluten free’ status to assure you that it is absolutely safe for you if you are allergic to gluten or have celiac disease. 

One of the biggest benefits of this spread is that it does not contain palm oil. In addition, it is minimally sweetened with natural sugars in small amounts.

As a result, it can fit into a low-carb diet. It has a simple recipe with very few ingredients making it one of the best spreads that you can find in the market now.

e) Nutamo

Another natural and gluten free choco-nut butter is from the house of Nutamo.

It is a mix of cocoa and hazelnuts and is free from not just gluten but also peanuts and GMOs.

It uses responsibly sourced ingredients directly from the best farms, and there is no artificial ingredient added in its manufacturing.

If you are allergic to gluten or peanuts, this is the perfect chocolate, and hazelnut spread that you can put in any food.

Breakfast or dessert, brownies, or lattes – anything delicious can become even tastier if you top them with the Nutamo spread.

Or, if you can unleash the child in you and stick a spoon into the jar!  

Other gluten free chocolate and hazelnut butter brands include JEM, Shocolat, Good Good Natural Sweetness, and others.

These can be used as a spread or dip. You can put them on bread, sweet sauces, or smoothies.

They may not have the brand value of Ferrero, but there’s no health concern with them.      

Homemade Gluten Free Nutella Recipe

is nutella gluten free
Illustration only – Home made nutella recipe

The name Nutella has now become synonymous with chocolate and hazelnut spread. In fact, any chocolate butter, with or without nuts, is often referred to as Nutella.

But if you are particular about going for absolutely gluten free spreads, you can either buy alternatives to Nutella or make it at home.

If you have taken to a gluten free lifestyle, you probably already have the habit of making everything at home.

After all, there are no health concerns involved when you make additive and preservative-free products in your own kitchen. So check out this delicious recipe for chocolate and hazelnut spread.


  • Hazelnut – 1 cup
  • Milk chocolate – 12 oz
  • Mild vegetable oil – 2 tbsp
  • Confectioner’s sugar – 3 tbsp
  • Unsweetened cocoa powder – 1 tbsp
  • Vanilla extract – ½ tsp
  • Salt – ¾ tsp


  • Preheat your oven to 250 F.
  • Take a baking sheet and spread out the hazelnuts on it. Make sure that they are in a single layer. 
  • Toast the nuts in the oven for about 10-12 minutes, until they turn a little brown and the skin starts to blister. 
  • Take the nuts out and put them in a kitchen towel. To remove the nuts’ skin, rub them properly while they are inside the kitchen towel. Then, let them cool down. 
  • In a saucepan, melt the milk chocolate using a double bath. You can also nuke them in the microwave, stirring every now and then to ensure that the chocolate is smooth. Let it cool down.
  • Put the cooled down hazelnuts in a food processor and grind them to get a paste. 
  • Add the other ingredients, except the melted chocolate, and process again for a smooth paste. 
  • Finally, add the melted chocolate and blend again.   

Your chocolate-and-hazelnut butter is ready! This spread is easy to make and is completely healthy. It is also free from gluten!

It is also free from dairy, palm oil, and additives that may or may not contain gluten.

In addition, it is entirely vegan! So why not shift to this delicious spread?

Gluten Free Strawberry Milkshake with Chocolate and Hazelnut Butter

is nutella gluten free - recipes
Illustration image only

Milkshakes are fun and easy and can be energizing and healthy if you know what ingredients to put in them.

Fun fact: milkshakes taste magical and utterly satisfying if you add a dollop of chocolate and hazelnut butter.

Here’s a gluten free milkshake recipe in which you can add your homemade Nutella.


  • Milk – ½ cup
  • Strawberries – ½ cup
  • Vanilla Ice Cream (gluten free) – 2 scoops
  • Chocolate and hazelnut butter – ¼ cup + 1 tbsp


  • Take a blender and put all the ingredients (with half a cup of your homemade chocolate and hazelnut butter) into it. Blend properly to get a smooth texture.  
  • In a large glass, put a tablespoon of choco-nut butter. On top of that, pour the milkshake that you just blended. 

Your milkshake is ready! Top it off with sprinkles, whipped cream, or more choco-nut butter – or all of them.

You’ll get a thick and creamy shake that will not only be a hit with the kids in the house but also the adults. You’ll definitely love sipping on the gorgeous gluten free milkshake.


Nutella is a popular spread that offers a moreish combination of chocolate and hazelnut flavors.

It’s no wonder that everyone loves Nutella. The spread is popular around the world.

Thankfully, none of the key ingredients contain gluten, and most people with gluten intolerance enjoy it without allergic reactions. 

However, Nutella does not come with a gluten free label, which means that it is not tested for the gluten content in it.

So, it is difficult to tell if the additives in Nutella are gluten free or not, or if there’s trace gluten in the spread.

So, if you’re severely allergic to gluten, you can avoid it or test a small amount of it.

You can choose gluten free chocolate and hazelnut butter brands available in the market to be absolutely sure. Another way to enjoy choco-nut butter is by making it at home.

Whether you pick Nutella or its alternatives, remember that they have nuts, and if you’re allergic to nuts, you can’t have any of them.  


About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.