Gluten Free Protein Powder List. 10 Popular Brands

  • There are many gluten free protein powder brands on the market.
  • Plant based or animal based powders options.
  • Protein powder is a concentrated powder made out of animal or plant based source.
  • Make sure to look for the GF icon on the product to know if it’s gluten free or not

Gluten free protein powder is a needed product. While most people who eat what ever they want, people with celiac who also love to lift weights need gluten free protein sources, and this list will explain where to get it, and the most popular brands.

Whether you’re trying to lose weight or hoping to build muscles, protein is an essential part of the diet.

If you stop consuming sufficient proteins, you’ll lose mass and strength, and your body will stop functioning.

One of the best ways to meet your daily protein needs is through protein powders.

But if you’re celiac or allergic to gluten, you also have to find gluten free protein powders.

So, how do you find the best brands of protein powders that are free from wheat isolates or any kind of gluten content from the different plant-based sources?

Besides, is it at all necessary to buy protein powder?

These questions are normal, especially if you have a lot of friends who have gathered their knowledge about food and nutrition from unreliable magazines. Today you’ll learn everything you need!

Gluten free protein powder – What is Protein Powder?

Protein is an indispensable part of the diet if you want to stay fit. It is the building block of every part of your body – from bones to blood, from muscles to nails and hair.

If you go to a dietician or talk to your gym trainer, you’ll know how important it is to set a target for your daily protein intake. 

But what exactly is protein powder? Simply put, it is concentrated protein derived from both animal and plant sources.

Animal sources like eggs and dairy and plant sources like rice and peas are packed with protein.

Their protein content is extracted, and we get protein powder that is recommended by experts.

Protein powders are of three types:

a) Protein Concentrates: 

60-80% of protein concentrates is made of protein, while the rest comprises carbs and fat. These are extracted from whole foods, and the process of extraction requires heat, along with acids or enzymes. 

b) Protein Isolates: 

This form of protein powder comprises 90-95% protein. That’s because the process of making it involves an additional step of filtering. This helps to remove carbs and fat to concentrate the protein further. 

c) Protein Hydrolysates:

The production process involves further exposure to heat and enzymes or acids, which breaks the bonds. The body absorbs hydrolysates quickly. They also raise levels of insulin, especially as a whey protein.    

Some protein powders also contain other nutrients like vitamins and minerals. Calcium is predominantly found in some of them.

It is best to go for unsweetened protein powders so that the carb content in them is lower than the ones that are loaded with sweeteners. 

If you are not heavily into gymming, bodybuilding, weight lifting, or athletics, you can benefit from the consumption of protein powders greatly.

They will help you meet your protein goals. This helps to maximize muscle mass and shed excess fat from the body in a healthy way. 

That’s not all. Some people need more protein than others do because of their health conditions or age.

Unfortunately, their regular diet may not be enough to get that kind of protein, especially if they are on a vegetarian or vegan diet. For them, protein powders can work wonders. 

If you are a healthy adult and are not heavily into physical activities, on a regular diet with animal protein sources should be enough for you.

You will not need to add protein powders to your diet. It is, however, a good idea to go to a dietician if you are struggling with body fat or weight issues. 

Does Your Protein Powder Contain Gluten?

Whether you use plant-based protein powder or consume animal-based ones, there’s a possibility that the powder contains gluten.

This can be a problem if you are celiac or allergic to gluten, you have to ensure that the protein powder you’re buying and are about to add to your diet does not contain gluten.

Read More:  Why are Gluten Free Products so Expensive?

There are several protein powders available in the market. How will you find the one that’s free from gluten – and hence, the right fit for you?

The answer is simple. You have to look for the gluten free label on the package of the product, just as you do in the case of all products that you buy. 

If a product being in the US has a GF or Gluten Free label, that means that the product has been tested to check its gluten level, which has revealed that it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten.

20 ppm is the permitted level of gluten in a food product and anything less than that means that the product is safe.

At the time of buying a protein powder, you need to look for this label. Also make sure that it has received its certification from a reliable third-party organization, like GFCO.

In fact, the GFCO seal means that the product contains 10 ppm of gluten or less. The organization has very stringent laws. 

The GF seal also means that the facilities where the protein powder has been manufactured, processed, or stored follow all set standards to avoid cross-contamination.

So, this seal is the ultimate proof that you can buy the product without worrying about any adverse repercussions on your health. 

There are many other products that are made from naturally gluten free ingredients.

They have not been tested, though, to check their gluten levels. If you are not severely allergic, you can simply talk to the manufacturer of the protein powder to find out about its ‘gluten free’ status and get your answers.

If you’re going for a protein supplement that does not bear a seal, you need to check the list of ingredients marked on the label.

It will indicate if the product contains ingredients that you should avoid. In general, you need to be careful about certain common names on the label of dietary supplements like:

  1. Graham flour
  2. Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  3. Modified wheat starch
  4. Modified food starch
  5. Oats 
  6. Spelt
  7. Bulgur
  8. Additives like flavoring and coloring

Sometimes, brands are just sneaky and they use different names on the label that you may not even know.

So, to avoid confusion, it is better to go for a protein powder that is labeled gluten free.

That way, you can put your mind to rest, as this label shows that the products and its ingredients are all safe. 

Types of Protein Powder

  • Whey
  • Casein
  • Egg
  • Soy
  • Pea
  • Hemp
  • Rice
  • Mixed

There are various types of protein powders available in the market. These differ primarily from each other based on the source from which they are derived.

It might be derived from both plant and animal sources. Some of them are quite popular, like whey or pea, while others are comparatively lesser known.

Let’s take a look at the different categories of protein powders that you can choose from –   

a) Whey 

It is probably the most popular protein supplement – one that is regularly used by anyone looking for additional protein.

It has milk protein that’s easily soluble in water. The reason it is so popular is that it is considered a complete protein source, with all the amino acids your body needs and absorbs easily. 

b) Casein

This protein supplement is packed with amino acids called glutamine. This ingredient boosts muscle recovery after a workout session.

That is why it is a favorite choice among bodybuilders. Casein contains dairy, and your body will take time to digest this protein. Nighttime is ideal for its consumption. 

c) Egg 

This protein powder is made from egg whites, and, as we all know, egg whites are an excellent source of protein.

This product has become a popular choice for those who are allergic to dairy but prefer animal proteins in their diet.

Egg white protein powders are quite light and get easily digested by the body.

d) Soy

For vegans, one of the most popular choices is soy protein. It is a rare plant-based protein powder that is entirely composed of protein.

Read More:  Why are Gluten Free Products so Expensive?

It is also a great source of all the essential amino acids required by your body. Soy powder is known for providing muscle strength. It is also rich in other plant compounds. 

d) Pea 

Another popular choice is pea protein, which is an excellent source of arginine, an amino acid that releases insulin and growth hormones.

It is also a rich source of other amino acids that boost the production of muscle protein while fueling working muscles. It is also known to lower blood pressure.

e) Hemp

Hemp seeds from cannabis plants. But don’t worry; it will not make you high.

That’s because it comes from only the variety of marijuanna that’s bred to contain THC in trace amounts.

It contains moderate protein levels and not enough lysine, an amino acid. But it has lots of fibers and other nutrients.

f) Rice

Another vegan protein powder comes from brown rice, and even though it contains low amounts of lysines, it is still a reliable source of plant-based protein.

It boosts the strength and recovery of muscles when you consume it regularly. You need to look for a brand that gets tested for arsenic contamination. 

g) Mixed

Since different plant sources of protein have different strengths and weaknesses, mixed protein powders are a great choice.

They bring together the goodness of different plant protein sources like alfalfa, flax seeds, chia seeds, quinoa, and more, so that your body gets sufficient amounts of essential amino acids.  

There are different protein shakes that can vary on the basis of quality. Hence, their prices will also vary.

You should look at the labels to ensure that the powder you’re buying has been tested for harmful materials like arsenic.

It’s best to pay a little extra for a healthy protein powder from a reliable brand. 

Best Gluten Free Protein Brands

If you have never purchased gluten free protein powders before, it’s possible that you will have difficulty in looking for one that is safe and healthy.

So here are a few brands of gluten free protein powder brands that will help you meet your protein goals without triggering allergic reactions. 

10 Popular Gluten Free Protein Powder Brands

Here’s a quick look at the best gluten free protein powder brands for – 

a) Body Fortress

The protein powder by Body Fortress is marketed as a gluten free whey protein bran, formulated to bring you a blend of concentrate and isolate.

Sure enough, it proudly flaunts its gluten-free label to ensure that its consumption is completely safe if you are suffering from celiac disease or gluten allergy. 

The powder is packed with amino acids, which means that it boosts the recovery of muscles after workouts.

The powder is available in many delicious flavors, too. It might be a little gritty in texture, as it does not have soy lecithin, an ingredient that makes protein powder soluble for a smooth texture. 

b) Bodylogix

This powder is a mix of isolate, hydrolysate, and concentrate of whey protein.

Plus, the package clearly mentions that it is gluten free. In addition, it also contains no sugar.

Instead, the sweetener used in this protein supplement is stevia. So it is ideal for those looking to cut off sugar and gluten completely. 

That’s not all. To ensure complete safety, the protein is extracted from the milk of grass-fed cows only, and is formulated without artificial flavoring or coloring agents.

It is also preferred because of the reduced lactose content in it. The powder dissolves easily in liquid and is available in many flavors. 

c) GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey

GNC offers a wide variety of protein powders. If you’re looking for a gluten free variety, pick the Pro Performance 100% Whey protein powder.

Be careful because the other varieties of Pro Performance are not gluten free. It is available in six delicious flavors. So you can pick your favorite one – or even more!

It contains all nine essential amino acids required by your body. This blend of concentrate and isolate is free from sugar content, and is therefore the perfect fit for your zero-carb, sugar-free diet.

Read More:  Why are Gluten Free Products so Expensive?

Shake it or stir it – the texture of the drink will always be smooth because the powder dissolves really well in liquid. 

d) Muscle Milk

Muscle Milk is a protein powder that shows off the gluten free seal on the bottle, making it a favorite among people with celiac disease and gluten allergy.

The powder is all about dairy protein, with a blend of casein protein and whey protein isolate. It is also loaded with corn fiber, vitamins, and minerals.

It comes in a wide range of flavors, including cake batter, cookies and creme, and graham crackers, all of which are gluten free. This protein powder is an ideal dietary supplement.

It not only helps you meet your protein goals but also helps with muscle recovery and boosts the growth of lean muscles. 

e) Labrada Meal Replacement Shake

This meal replacement protein shake powder is formulated with a blend of whey protein concentrate and protein isolate derived from milk, whey, and soy.

It is also pumped with sunflower oil and corn MCT oil, along with vitamins and minerals. The part, of course, is that it’s gluten free, as marked on the bottle.

The product does contain oats for additional fiber content, but since the final product is tested and marked gluten free, you can rest assured that it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten, which is safe for you.

The protein powder comes in a variety of flavors and is a delicious way to add protein to your diet. 

f) PlantFusion 

PlantFurion’s Complete protein powder is the ideal product for those who want to stay away from dairy or animal products.

It has a base of pea protein isolates, with a mix of artichoke, sprouted amaranth, and quinoa powders, all of which are organic. In addition, it is free from gluten and all other allergens. 

This protein powder is sweetened with fructose and stevia, and it is available in a large number of flavors, along with an unflavored variant, giving you complete flexibility.

It contains amino acids, and this powder matches animal-sourced protein powders in building and repairing muscles to make you fit.   

g) Thorne Research 

Thorne Research offers three different varieties of protein powders – Whey Protein Isolate, VeganPro Complex, and RecoveryPro.

All of these products bear a gluten-free seal to ensure that you get to choose a protein powder that builds muscles and boosts speedy recovery without gluten consumption.

Of these three protein powders, only VeganPro is completely free from animal protein and is made of pea, rice, and chia seed proteins.

The other two contain whey protein. RecoveryPro is primarily targeted towards the recovery of muscles after workouts. All variants are packed with amino acids and nutrients.

Some of the other protein powders that you can use include Vega One (which is a vegan variant), Quest Protein Powder, TGS Nutrition Whey Protein, and more.

All of these products are labeled gluten free, meaning they have been tested and found to contain less than 20 ppw of gluten.  

Conclusion

Protein powder can become an essential part of the diet. It can help with weight management by keeping you full for a long time and curbing your binge-eating cravings.

As the building block of the muscles, it can bulk up by boosting muscle growth and repairing damaged muscles.   

It can also help strengthen your muscles and boost recovery after workouts, especially resistance training.

It might even help alleviate blood pressure, cholesterol, and other cardiovascular conditions.

If you’re into physical activity or facing trouble meeting your protein goals, protein powder can help. 

However, if you are allergic to gluten or have celiac disease, it is important to ensure that the protein powder that you are planning to consume does not have gluten content in it.

The best way to do this is by picking protein powders that are labeled gluten free. The seal is proof that the product is safe for you. 

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Diana

Foodie at heart, ever since I discovered I had Celiac, I completely changed my diet and eating habits, I enjoy writing and reading about recipes and actually cooking for my family