- ROLOs are chocolate caramel candy.
- ROLOs are Gluten free.
- They DO NOT come with Gluten free certification.
Nothing is more tempting than a handful of candies. Be it a chocolate candy or a sugar one, and none can counter the temptation of tasting it. After all, we are fans. So, imagine the soft caramel of ROLO candy melting inside your mouth. Absolutely irresistible, eh?
But, not everyone is a blessed soul and can get away with whatever they eat. People like us have to check gluten presence in each and everything. Starting from candies to fine dining, gluten-sensitive people are always conscious.
Hence, this article is intended to find out the ultimate truth about ROLO candies and their gluten status. Also, we will be focusing on some other gluten free candy options that you may try.
What are ROLOs, and are they Gluten Free?
ROLO is a chocolate caramel candy. The candy has quite a lot of fans worldwide. Initially, it was produced by the Mackintoshs in 1937 in the UK.
However, if you judge today’s history, the brand Nestlé has taken over the world except in the US. This is because the production and marketing of the candy have been licensed to The Hershey Company in the US.
ROLO candies look like conical or cone-shaped chocolate blocks. The outer layer is soft chocolate, and on the inside, you can feel the tender caramel layer. This particular candy had a specific slogan for more than twenty long years.
“Do you love anyone enough to give them your last ROLO?“
The slogan had been amply set after getting that unique taste of the candy.
Are Rolos Gluten Free?
Now let us come to the crux of the discussion. ROLOs are no doubt one of the tastiest munchies. That soft chocolate coating and caramel layer are honestly worth a shot.
But then we have celiac patients and gluten intolerants among us who are super worried while eating something because, well, you know!
Yet, can someone resist the call of candies? No, right?
Hence we have it covered for you. We have contacted the owners and spoken to quite a few customers who are gluten sensitive. And what we found out might be pleasing to you.
ROLOs are certainly gluten free.
That said, they do not come with a gluten free certification. But Hershey’s company has shortlisted them in their gluten free showcase.
The ingredients used in the candy are as follows:
- Corn syrup
- High fructose corn syrup
- Skim milk
- Hydrogenated vegetable oil (soybean oil, palm kernel oil)
- Vegetable oil (sunflower oil, safflower oil, palm oil, shea oil)
- Baking soda
So, no source of gluten or derivative products has been used. But, please take note of one fact that ROLOs mini does not come under the list.
Nutritional facts of ROLO: Is It Healthy?
“Your greatest wealth is your health.”
And we all know that the key to good health is a balanced food habit. However, sometimes candies make it hard for us.
But consuming too much chocolate or caramel might give you a hard time. That is probably not what you want from chocolate candies, do you?
Hence, before consuming, let us look at the nutritional value of ROLOs.
Nutritional Facts: (per eight-count serving size)
- Calorie: 220
- Total Carbohydrate : 33 g
- Total Sugars 30g
- Added Sugar: 28 g
- Fat: 10 g
- Protein: 2 g
- Sodium: 75 mg
- Vitamin D: 0.3 mcg
- Iron: 0.6 mg
- Potassium: 120.0mg
- Calcium: 70.0mg
You might have understood that ROLOs can increase your calorie count by judging the above list. Also, it is not ideal for diabetes patients as it can surpass the regular basis sugar allowance. Therefore, keeping up with your health and the candies is entirely up to you.
Gluten free alternatives to ROLOs
Hershey’s ROLOs are obviously gluten free. But, you always find variety, don’t you? Every morning, that same old spinach and eggs on your breakfast plate might irritate you a little bit.
Hence we have prepared a list of a few gluten free candy alternatives. Let us take a look.
Sea salt Caramel Squares by Dr Johns
Dr Johns’s caramel candies are the healthiest options you can try. One of the most intriguing facts about these candies is that they are safe for diabetes patients as they are sugar-free. Also, gluten-sensitive people can enjoy it thoroughly as they are gluten-free.
#1 Call’s Naturally Gluten Free caramel candies
These are other caramel candies that you can try. This one is naturally gluten free. However, the sugar quantity might give you a second thought. Nevertheless, you may give it a shot.
Another delicious alternative would be Snickers. This chocolate caramel bar is pretty popular. The ingredients used in it do not contain gluten. Hence, it has been considered gluten free.
However, other allergens, like nuts, might be present.
One more fact, no gluten free certification has been provided for Snickers.
#3 Hershey’s KISSES
Hershey’s kisses might be your go-to option if you fancy chocolate candies. You can try their milk chocolate, Kisses milk chocolate with almond, KISSES Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate, KISSES Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel, and KISSES Meltaway Milk Chocolate. Each one of these is gluten free.
What Hershey products are gluten free?
- Many Hershey’s products are gluten free. Some popular ones are HERSHEY’S KISSES Candies, York peppermint patties, Reese’s peanut butter cups, etc.
Is Dove chocolate gluten free?
- Almost all dove chocolates are gluten free. But the Dove Cinnamon Graham Cookies in Milk Chocolate and Cookies & Cream are not suitable for gluten intolerants.
Is Ferrero Rocher gluten free?
- Sadly NO! Ferrero Rocher is made of wheat flour, making it entirely intolerable for gluten-sensitive people.
So, after finding facts like a needle in a haystack, we’ve finally discovered the truth about ROLO candies. And it turns out that you’re, after all, lucky. ROLOs are perfectly fine to consume.
However, certain ingredients in it can cause an issue with excessive consumption. So be aware of that, and you’re good to go.
More Posts for You: