Is Eggnog Gluten Free? Info and Recipes

  • Eggnog is an egg-milk punch.
  • Eggnog can be an alcoholic and nonalcoholic beverage.
  • Eggnog is gluten free.

It is essential to be very cautious about what you are putting on your plate and what items contain gluten in today’s fast-moving world. Even though going gluten free is very tedious and exhilarating, people prefer it for various medical reasons. So this time, we wanted to know is Eggnog gluten free.

Among many beverages, Eggnog is one such lucky beverage that is gluten free and can be consumed however you want. It is very healthy and has rich protein. Well, let’s dive into the topic and look at what this gluten free beverage can offer…

What is Eggnog and Is it Gluten Free?

Is Eggnog Gluten Free

Eggnog is simply an egg-milk punch that is very famous all over the world. It is claimed to have originated in East Anglia, but British scientists still argue about that. It was created to be an alcoholic beverage, but eventually, it became a milk smoothie over the years.

Today, Eggnog is served with concentrated rum in the bars and with milk and fruits at home. It can blend with any ingredients, and anyone can create their own customized Eggnog shake. The most common homemade Eggnog is the shake of eggs, milk, cinnamon, and sugar. Children love it with chocolate syrup.

Eggnog is very healthy, and doctors recommend that children have Eggnog twice a week for strong bone growth, muscle building, and increased stamina. In addition, it is a common post-workout drink for gym trainers and athletes for instant boost and bone strength.

Is Eggnog gluten free?

Yes, Eggnog is absolutely gluten free. Like many smoothies, Eggnog is gluten free, but sometimes, chefs mix it with gluten alcohol. Therefore, you should be very careful when you order Eggnog beverages in restaurants.

Eggnog is one of the recommended beverages from doctors for its rich nutritional value and organic nature. Eggnog uses milk, yolk, sugars, flavors and can be served both hot and cold. But it’s mostly preferred to be chilled.

Read More:  Is Meringue Gluten Free?

What is Eggnog made of?

Eggnog is a traditional morning English drink that can easily compensate for breakfast. All you need is eggs, sugar, milk, and cream.

The nutritional division of 250 grams of Eggnog:

  • Total fat = 11grams
  • Saturated fat= 6.6 grams
  • Cholesterol = 150 grams
  • Sodium = 137 grams
  • Carbohydrate = 20 grams
  • Sugar = 20 grams
  • Protein = 12 grams
  • Vitamin D = 3 micrograms
  • Calcium = 330.5 milligrams
  • Iron = 0.5 milligrams
  • Potassium 419 milligrams

It makes a perfect drink for athletes, gym trainers, children, and women. In addition, it strengthens the bones and helps pregnant women to have high nutrition.

How to make an Eggnog?

Eggnog is basically a raw egg beverage and is quite easy to make.

Ingredients

  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • Nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of heavy cream

Steps

  1. Take the yolk of the 6 large eggs into a bowl.
  2. Add milk, cream, nutmeg, salt, and sugar to it.
  3. Whisk them on low flame and let them cook till it thickens.
  4. Blend it, and you can add milk as much as you want, depending on the concentration you like.
  5. Pour it into a glass and add vanilla ice cream.
  6. Add ice cubes and chocolate syrup if you like.
  7. It is ready to serve.

You can add any flavors to Eggnog and even add jellies, candies and make your Eggnog an exciting drink. Many people prefer alcoholic Eggnog as liquor brings a fine flavor to the drink. Eggnog can easily be blended with brandy, rum, bourbon, and whiskey.

How to make alcoholic Eggnog?

Is Eggnog Gluten Free

Alcoholic Eggnog is a classic holiday drink during Christmas, Easter, and thanksgiving. It is not a concentrated alcoholic beverage, but chefs add strong alcohol to make it more exciting. Please always note the type of alcohol you use as it might have wheat content or gluten substances.

Ingredients

  • Classic Eggnog
  • 2 cups of brandy or bourbon, dark rum
  • Chocolate syrup
  • Sugar if you want more.
Read More:  Is Apple Cider Gluten Free?

Steps

  1. Make traditional Eggnog like mentioned before.
  2. Before pouring into a glass, sieve it properly.
  3. Add the alcohol to the mixture.
  4. Let it rest in the fridge for two hours.
  5. Take it out, whisk it, add more alcohol for a strong beverage
  6. Add chocolate syrup to the glass, pour the Eggnog into it.
  7. Remember, a little extra sugar can enrich the flavor of the beverage.

Alcoholic Eggnog makes a perfect holiday drink, and letting it rest overnight can make the beverage even more recreational.

What are the health benefits of Eggnog?

  • Eggnog has rich vitamin content

One mug of Eggnog can easily have 400 grams of potassium, vitamin B12, and B2. In addition, it can give you a daily dose of calcium needs, vitamin A and iron. The milk and the egg in the beverage play a vital role in boosting your immune system and adding nutrients to the body. You have to be aware of the milk you use; go for organic and fat-free milk for better results.

If you’re looking for ways to add Eggnog to your diet, consume one Eggnog glass with almond milk or soy milk to make it more protein and fiber-rich.

  • Eggnog is the source of protein

Eggs are naturally rich in protein, and Eggnog makes them a perfect beverage to bring more protein to you. One glass of Eggnog will easily have 10 – 12 grams of protein which can boost your muscle building, bone strengthening and enrich your blood circulation.

For athletes and gym trainers, two glasses of Eggnog will suffice their protein intake and can be a perfect replacement for whey protein. In addition, eggnog with almond or soy milk will perfectly make a meal.

  • Eggnog components have anti-inflammatory agents

Eggnog is traditionally made with spices like nutmeg, cinnamon, and other herbs. These spices have anti-inflammatory agents as well as antioxidants. The beverage can easily be blended with other herbs and leaves to give more boost to the body. Sometimes, kratom leaves are also added to the drink.

Read More:  Is Risotto Gluten Free - Info, Brands and Recipes

Final Lines on ‘Is Eggnog Gluten Free’

Eggnog is a classic beverage that is handed over from generations in the west.

This traditional drink is completely gluten free and organic.

It has rich protein and health benefits and makes a perfect diet meal.

Now that you know how to make the perfect Eggnog try it out without fail! Also, share your discovery with your friends with similar wellness habits.

More Posts for You:

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Diana

Foodie at heart, ever since I discovered I had Celiac, I completely changed my diet and eating habits, I enjoy writing and reading about recipes and actually cooking for my family