Is Toblerone Gluten Free

  • A unique triangular candy bar that combines delicious milk chocolate and nougat, Toblerone has been tantalizing our taste buds for over one century.
  • Toblerone is gluten free, allowing celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers to safely enjoy its unique flavor!
  • If you are celiac or you suffer from gluten intolerance, checking out labels should turn into a habit.
  • Since manufacturers sometimes modify the ingredients list, we strongly recommend celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers to carefully check out labels before purchasing any type of product that is not labeled as gluten-free.

Is Toblerone gluten free? Finding good sweets once you go one a gluten free diet or suffer from celiac is not an easy task. Luckily for you, you now have sites like this to keep you informed. Keep reading below about Toblerone and Gluten.

A unique triangular candy bar that combines delicious milk chocolate and nougat, Toblerone has been tantalizing our taste buds for over one century.

Loved by kids and adults alike, Toblerone has been produced over time in more than 11 different varieties, including white chocolate, fruit and nut, or honeycomb.

And the best news is that Toblerone is gluten free, allowing celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers to safely enjoy its unique flavor!

Is Toblerone Gluten Free – What is Toblerone

is toblerone gluten free

The history of Toblerone starts back in 1868, when Jean Tobler opened his confectionary in Bern, Switzerland.

In 1909, Jean Tobler’s son and nephew – who were now running the company – had a brilliant idea: combine their classic chocolate recipe with crushed bits of nougat! Success was guaranteed. 

To make sure nobody else would imitate his candy bar, Theodor Tobler patented Toblerone, making it the 1st patented milk, almonds and honey chocolate bar.

In case you are wondering where the name comes from, then you must know that it is a combination between the Tobler family name and Torrone, which is the name of the famous Italian nougat they added to their chocolate recipe. 

Read More:  Is Southern Comfort Gluten Free

Related: Is peanut butter gluten free | Gluten free instant pudding recipes

As for the atypical shape of this candy bar, it is still a mystery. But most people agree that the shape was inspired by Matterhorn, an iconic peak in the Swiss Alps.

Currently, Toblerone is owned by Mondelēz International, Inc., a US confectionery company, and it is available in the following varieties:

  •  TOBLERONE Milk
  • TOBLERONE Fruit & Nut
  • TOBLERONE Dark
  • TOBLERONE White
  • TOBLERONE Tiny

For more information about the available varieties, you can visit the official website

Ingredients

According to its manufacturer, Toblerone contains:

  • Whole Milk Powder
  • Cocoa Mass
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Honey (3%)
  • Milk Fat
  • Almonds (1.6%)
  • Egg White
  • Flavoring
  • Emulsifier (Soya Lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate contains: 
  • Milk Solids 14% minimum
  • Cocoa Solids 28% minimum

As for Allergens, Toblerone contains :

  • Almonds 
  • Milk
  • Eggs 
  • Soya 

Things to look out for

If you are celiac or you suffer from gluten intolerance, checking out labels should turn into a habit. In their attempt to keep up with market demands and constantly improve their products, manufacturers may modify the ingredients in their products.

So, if a product is not clearly labeled as gluten free, carefully checking out labels becomes a priority. Even if you have previously safely consumed the respective product.

To sum up

If you love quality chocolate bars, then Toblerone is no stranger in your shopping cart. Since there are no gluten-containing ingredients in Toblerone bars, it can be safely consumed by celiac and gluten-sensitive people.

However, since manufacturers sometimes modify the ingredients list, we strongly recommend celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers to carefully check out labels before purchasing any type of product that is not labeled as gluten-free. 

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.