Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten Free

  • Aunt Jemima Syrup combines deliciously not only with pancakes but also with waffles, cereals, fruit, pies. 
  • Aunt Jemima provides gourmets with a wide range of pancake mixes, delicious syrups, grits, corn meal mixes, and frozen products.
  • The Aunt Jemima Syrup is not only gluten free but also free of dairy, fish, shellfish, egg, tree nuts, sesame, peanut, mustard, sulfites, celery & lupin, soy, wheat, barley, oats, and mollusks. 
  • Though the Aunt Jemima Syrup is recognized as a gluten free product, celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers should always check out labels carefully.

Is aunt Jemima syrup gluten free? Nothing beats pancakes in the morning, and for those who can’t eat gluten, having pancakes is a bitter sweet pill. For the gluten free version is very good, some syrups are not suited for celiac people. In this article we introduce one that is!

An iconic American brand sold worldwide, Aunt Jemima has been enriching our breakfasts for over 130 years.

An award-winning product, the Aunt Jemima Syrup combines deliciously not only with pancakes but also with waffles, cereals, fruit, pies, etc. Mouth-watering, isn’t that so? But is Aunt Jemima syrup gluten free or not?

And there is even more good news: Aunt Jemima Syrup is gluten-free!

Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten Free – What is Aunt Jemima Syrup

is aunt jemima syrup gluten free
via foodrunfix

The company is currently owned by Quaker Oats Company, a company based in Chicago and a subsidiary of PepsiCo.

Though most of us associate Aunt Jemima with a syrup brand, the truth is the trademark wasn’t introduced as such until 1966. The brand started off in 1889, introducing to the public the first pancake mix ever sold.

Wrapped up in a brilliant marketing campaign that brought forward the image of Nancy Green, a former slave Mammy, the brand set off for a resounding success that would span over 130 years.

Nowadays, Aunt Jemima provides gourmets with a wide range of pancake mixes, delicious syrups, grits, corn meal mixes, and frozen products.

Read More:  Is Fried Rice Gluten Free? Everything You Need to Know

The Aunt Jemima syrup was introduced for the first time in 1966. In 1985 a new flavor was added: Aunt Jemima Butter Lite syrup, followed by Butter Rich syrup in 1991. 

In 1996, Aunt Jemima licensed their frozen foods line to Aurora Foods, which was absorbed by Pinnacle Foods Corporation in 2004. If you want to keep up with all the novelties regarding Aunt Jemima Frozen Breakfast line, make sure to check out their Facebook page.  

Related: Is tomato sauce gluten free | Is honey gluten free

If you want to find out more about the Aunt Jemima line of products, make sure to check out their official website

Ingredients

If you suffer from celiac or any other form of gluten-sensitivity, then Aunt Jemima Syrup makes a great choice when it comes to adding some extra sweetness and flavor to your breakfasts. 

The Aunt Jemima Syrup is not only gluten free but also free of dairy, fish, shellfish, egg, tree nuts, sesame, peanut, mustard, sulfites, celery & lupin, soy, wheat, barley, oats, and mollusks. 

The Original Aunt Jemima Syrup contains: 

  • Corn syrup
  • Water
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Cellulose gum
  • Salt
  • Caramel color
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • Sodium hexametaphosphate
  • Preservatives (sodium benzoate, sorbic acid)

What to look out for

Though the Aunt Jemima Syrup is recognized as a gluten free product, celiac and gluten-sensitive consumers should always check out labels carefully.

It is not uncommon for manufacturers to modify the list of ingredients to adapt to new market and customer demands. 

To sum up

An American classic that enjoys huge popularity all around the globe, the Aunt Jemima Syrup is a gluten free maple-flavored syrup that combines beautifully not only with pancakes and waffles but also with fruit, cereals, granola, or hotcakes.

However, if you are celiac or gluten sensitive, it is highly advisable to always read labels and make sure there are no changes in the ingredients list. 

Read More:  Is Kettle Corn Gluten Free. Safe Brands and Recipes

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.