Is Listerine Gluten Free? Info and DIY Recipe

  • Listerine is naturally gluten free.
  • No gluten is used during the manufacturing process of listerine. 
  • Manufacturers have confirmed its gluten status. 
  • However, cross-contamination can cause it to contain Gluten

Is Listerine gluten free? People nowadays are conscious about themselves and their diet courses. And even products like mouth wash are under the microscope, you can find gluten in many surprising products that increases the anxiety of celiac diseases and intolerance and have them looking for info on mouth wash products and more. ] So let us bring you to today’s discussion, is Listerine gluten free?

While almost everyone is avoiding it and taking a Gluten-free diet, other things, like toothpaste, and mouthwash are not being noticed! Why did I say that? Well, for your information, several toothpaste and mouthwash brands use Gluten while manufacturing their product range!

Using gluten toothpaste and mouth washing liquids can lead you to diseases in case you are intolerant. Hence, knowing which one contains Gluten and which one does not is crucial. 

So, let get started!

Is Listerine gluten free?

Is Listerine Gluten free?

Listerine is considered to be one of the most popular mouth washing liquids in the market. Since its debut in the market, it has gathered many fan followings! And since Listerine is a reputable brand, it has been providing people with satisfactory results. 

Now, people with certain health conditions and celiac diseases can not tolerate Gluten. Not in their diet course and not even in the dental products. And we are sure many of you have been suffering from it. Hence knowing the brands before using them is crucial. 

While speaking of littering, the manufacturers have confirmed that no gluten was used in it while producing Listerine. Hence it can be categorized under gluten-free mouthwash. 

Johnson & Johnson Inc. once mentioned,

“There is no gluten used in manufacturing Listerine Antiseptic Mouthwash Total Care, Smart Rinse, and Ultraclean products.” 

Therefore people with no tolerance of Gluten or low tolerance may consider using this product. 

However, on their account, the manufacturers have also mentioned later,  

“We can not guarantee that cross-contamination with gluten has not occurred.” 

That means, if you have been using a product for a long time, there are fair chances of gluten contamination. The company has claimed that the production of Listerine is free of grain source alcohol. 

The manufacturers have mentioned, 

“The Healthy White Mouthwashes may or may not contain Gluten. Unfortunately, we do not have that information.”

So, you may well understand the risk of using it for a long time. So select wisely. 

Homemade gluten free mouthwash

Is Listerine Gluten-free?

The reputed companies all over the globe have claimed their mouthwashes to be free of Gluten. However, just like Listerine, none can confirm the status. the manufacturers can not assert whether cross-contamination has caused the product to contain Gluten. 

That is why we are here to bring you a permanent solution to this gluten issue! We will be providing you with a homemade gluten-free mouthwash recipe. And to be honest, the ingredients needed to make this are easily available in your kitchen and the market as well. So you might get yourself buckled up and start preparing. 


  • Baking soda
  • Distilled water
  • Tea tree essential oil
  • Peppermint oil


  1. First, you need to take a jar. Make sure you are taking a clean one. Otherwise, it will be best if you can wash it once with clean water. Also, ensure that the jar you are taking has a lid.
  2. Once all is set, you need to take the jar and add one cup of distilled water to it. After that, take one tablespoon full of baking soda and add to the water.
  3. Some people love the flavor of peppermint in their mouthwashes. And if you are of the fans, make sure you add three to four drops of peppermint oil to the liquid.
  4. And last but not least, add a few drops of tea tree essential oil. Now cover the jar with the lid tightly and give it a good shake! 

And guess what? Your gluten-free homemade mouthwash is ready to use. But it would be best if you instantly use it after half an hour. Otherwise, it may result in spoilage.

Gluten free toothpaste

We understand that many of us can not tolerate Gluten in any case! Hence we have added this bonus section for you to have a better experience with dental care products. 

Several popular toothpaste brands have used Gluten in their dental products. Hence, knowing the best product for yourself is necessary, especially when you are Gluten intolerant or have some health conditions. 

Before getting your hands on toothpaste, one thing to know is the ingredients used in making toothpaste. More or less, all brands use the same or similar raw ingredients. For example, baking soda is a well-known abrasive. Hence it is added as a scrubbing agent or as a cleaning agent. Some brands use salt to enhance dental care. Some cavity-preventing agents are also used in toothpaste. 

Now, your question here might be, where does Gluten come in then?

Well, Gluten is an ingredient that thickens toothpaste. Therefore, some brands use Gluten to adjust the consistency of the paste. Some brands use a grain source starch or cornstarch as a thickening agent. And some others have used cellulose gum-based thickening agents for chasing the purpose. 

Does your toothpaste contain Gluten? If it does, you should change it immediately. And exactly for that reason, you need to know some reputed oral care brands. 

The best in the lot is Colgate. The company set its foot in the field in 1806. And since its debut, it has not disappointed its fans. 

Following it, the flag bearers of the company have responsibly taken care of the quality. The company has claimed all their oral care range to be gluten-free. And consumers all over the globe have confirmed it time and again. 

On the Colgate-Palmolive Website, they have stated,

“We certify that all Colgate Toothpastes are Gluten free. We certify that all Colgate Mouthwashes are Gluten free. “

They have added later, 

“We do not intentionally add Gluten to any of our Colgate Palmolive products either. “

So, that sums up the debate. 

Some other gluten-free brands are Aquafresh, Biotene, and so on. All of these are gluten-free and can be used by all. Hence, you may get your hands on any of these.    

Final Lines on is Listerine is gluten free?

Listerine is one of the most popular oral brands all over the world. Each product of this brand comes with supreme quality. Since 1879 it has been winning thousands of hearts with its amazing performance. 

However, it is advised for gluten-intolerant people to check once before washing their mouth. Cross-contamination might cause the issue. 

We hope the above discussion on the topic – is Listerine is gluten-free was helpful. If you want your homemade gluten-free mouthwash, you can do it at home. And in case you do not wish to, well you can choose from a variety in the market. But choose wisely. 

More Posts for You: