Are Sprinkles Gluten Free? Info and Advice For Sprinkles Lovers

  • Sprinkles are small pieces of confectionery that are widely used for decorative purposes or to add extra texture to desserts.
  • Even though sprinkles are usually made from gluten-free ingredients, cross-contamination during manufacturing is a matter of concern.
  • Sprinkles are usually made from sugar, artificial coloring and flavoring, cornstarch, corn syrup, and food-grade wax.
  • If you are celiac or suffer from gluten intolerance, make sure to take your time and always check labels carefully.

Are Sprinkles gluten free? Every birthday is the same deal. If you’re a parent to a celiac kid, you worry that your kid will not be able to enjoy the birthday cake like any other else.

You need to make your own, or simply don’t eat it. Most cakes have sprinkles on top because it makes the cake look better.

And it’s also delicious. Let’s face it, it’s small candy in rainbow colors, whats not to like.

Visually magnetic and delicious, sprinkles are small pieces of confectionery that go wonderfully well with cupcakes, cakes, ice cream, donuts, and any other sweet treats you can think of.

Highly enjoyed all around the globe in a wide variety of ways, sprinkles are also known as jimmies, vermicelli, or hundreds-and-thousands.

If you are celiac or suffer from gluten intolerance, you must keep in mind that, even though sprinkles are usually made from gluten-free ingredients, cross-contamination during manufacturing is a matter of concern.

Are Sprinkles Gluten Free – What are Sprinkles

are sprinkles gluten free
via iStock

The origins of sprinkles are difficult to track down. Some say they were invented in Europe, while others claim it is an American invention.

But in the midst of controversy, some aspects are crystal clear: they started to be used at the beginning of the 20th century, they are known under different names, and delight kids and grown-ups alike. 

Related: Are Tic Tacs gluten free | Is Jello gluten free

Read More:  Is Hennessy Cognac Gluten Free. Cognac Recipes and More

Basically, sprinkles are small pieces of confectionery that are widely used for decorative purposes or to add extra texture to desserts.

They are produced in a wide variety of colors and flavors. As their name suggests, they are sprinkled randomly over sticky surfaces (e.g. ice cream, frosting, etc.)

How sprinkles are made

The first step is to mix sugar, cornstarch and an emulsifier until a doughy paste is obtained.

Then the paste is pushed through an extruder with small holes and then falls on a vibrating conveyer belt that breaks sprinkles into the right size.

In order to harden them and make them durable, colorful, and shiny, sprinkles are spray-coated in the desired colors and then coated with sugar glaze.

Ingredients for sprinkles

Sprinkles are usually made from sugar, artificial coloring and flavoring, cornstarch, corn syrup, and food-grade wax. 

As you can see, sprinkles are usually made from gluten-free ingredients. However, cross-contamination may occur during manufacturing and ingredients may vary, so we recommend caution.

Known brands for gluten free sprinkles

CakeCraft

CakeCraft produces a wide range of certified gluten-free products, ranging from cake mixes to sprinkles, food colorings, and frostings. Here you can find all their available gluten-free products. 

Natural Pearlised Rainbow Pearls Ingredients

• Sugar

• Maltodextrin

• Rice flour 

• Vegetable fat (coconut)

• Gum Arabic

• Carnauba wax

• Colors: (E160c paprika, E171 titanium dioxide, E100 tumeric, E163 anthocyanins)

• Spirulina extract

• Potassium aluminum silicate (anti-caking agent)

Free From: gluten, GMO, preservatives, hydrogenated fat, dairy, artificial sweeteners, colors, and flavors. HALAL & KOSHER CERTIFIED

Sweetapolita

Sweetapolita claims to use only premium ingredients and manufacture its products in facilities that comply with the highest quality and food safety standards.

All the products they label as gluten-free do not contain wheat and the trace amounts are below 20 parts per million. 

You can check out their gluten-free sprinkles here and gluten-free + vegan here

Read More:  Is Crisco Gluten Free

Cake Mate

Cake Mate offers a wide range of gluten-free cake decorating products that are manufactured in a gluten-free facility. You can check out their products range here. You can find more useful information on allergens and the manufacturing process here.  

Betty Crocker

Betty Crocker produces a wide variety of sprinkles. Even if their products are not labeled as gluten free, they do not directly contain gluten and are considered ‘safe to eat’ by many gluten-sensitive consumers.

However, they are packaged in a facility that also processes wheat, peanuts, coconut, and milk, so cross-contamination is likely to occur.

If you are celiac or suffer from severe gluten-intolerance, we strongly recommend that you look for other alternatives.

Betty Crocker™ Parlor Perfect Ice Cream Toppings Ingredients:

• Cornstarch

•Corn syrup

• Sugar

•Partially hydrogenated palm kernel oil

•Soy lecithin

•Carnauba wax

• Red 40, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 1

Here you can find all the sprinkles varieties produced by Betty Crocker.

What to look out for

Even though sprinkles are usually made from gluten-free ingredients, cross-contamination may happen if they are made in a facility that also processes gluten-containing products.

If you want to play safe and stay on a gluten-free diet, always read labels carefully, even if you have already consumed the product before and you consider it gluten-free.

Sometimes manufacturers change the ingredients in their products. We highly recommend that you always check labels carefully and opt – if possible – for products labeled as gluten free. 

To sum up

Sprinkles not only make desserts look and taste better, but they also bring fun to our sweet cravings!

Even though sprinkles are usually made from gluten free ingredients, they may still be subject to cross-contamination and ingredients changes.

If you are celiac or suffer from gluten intolerance, make sure to take your time and always check labels carefully. It is the only way to avoid unpleasant surprises and know exactly what you are about to ingest.

Read More:  Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten-Free? Complete Guide for the Brand

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Diana

Foodie at heart, ever since I discovered I had Celiac, I completely changed my diet and eating habits, I enjoy writing and reading about recipes and actually cooking for my family