Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free – Product Info and Advice

  • Kraft America’s Classic Caramel Bits are a popular caramel candy, also used in dessert-making. 
  • Kraft indicates allergens in its products – and its Caramel Bits’ ingredients list doesn’t mention gluten.
  • From the ingredients list, it can be assumed that Caramel Bits is made from gluten free ingredients.
  • It isn’t certified as gluten free, which is why it is difficult to say if it contains trace gluten.

Are Kraft Caramel Bits gluten free? Everyone with a sweet tooth loves caramel, right? The creamy, sugary goodness is too heavenly not to love.

What’s even better is the caramel candy that you can pop into your mouth and chew slowly to enjoy the sticky beauty.

One of the most popular caramel candies has to be Kraft America’s Classic Caramel bits, the tiny caramel balls that are oh-so-delicious! But are Kraft Caramel Bits gluten free? 

If you look at the list of ingredients of Kraft Caramel Bits, you’ll notice that there is no gluten content like wheat, barley, or rye.

It also doesn’t contain any other ingredient that contains gluten. So it can be said that this candy is made of gluten free ingredients, though it does contain additives.

The candy isn’t certified as a gluten free candy. So, it is difficult to confirm that the candy doesn’t contain trace gluten. 

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free – What is Kraft Caramel Bits

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free
via eBay

Caramel is one of the most popular ingredients in making desserts. They team well with everything from fruits to chocolates. Caramel candies, too, are hugely popular.

Surely, you love to suck on the sticky Kraft Caramel Bits, don’t you? Kraft Caramel Bits are the smaller variants of the Caramel squares by the world’s favorite food company, Kraft. But are Kraft Caramel Bits gluten free and safe?

People with gluten allergy and celiac disease, who do not usually face severe allergic reactions, trust Kraft foods since the company makes it a point to mention all allergens on the label distinctly.

If you’re not exceptionally sensitive, you can enjoy its products that don’t have gluten grains or related products. 

Kraft Caramel Bits fall in that category of products that do not mention any gluten grain or gluten-rich ingredients.

Kraft doesn’t hide allergens under the garb of unrecognizable names. Take soy, for instance. Kraft Caramel bits contain soy products, which are clearly mentioned on the label to warn consumers.

It can be assumed that Kraft Caramel Bits are not made from gluten grains or gluten-rich products. However, is that enough to claim that this candy is absolutely free from gluten content, and is safe for consumption?

Related: Are gritz gluten free | Are sprinkles gluten free

Well, that’s hard to say. That’s because the candy does not bear the gluten free seal.

Possibility of Gluten Content in Kraft Caramel Bits

A lack of seal means the final candy is not tested to check its gluten content, nor can it be claimed that it has been manufactured, processed, and packaged in an entirely safe environment.

What does that denote? It doesn’t explicitly indicate that Kraft Caramel Bits are unsafe.

But there’s no way to claim that someone who is severely allergic will not have reactions after consuming this caramel candy. 

You see, it is considered that a food product is safe for a celiac patient or someone who’s allergic to gluten – only if the gluten content is less than 20 ppm.

There’s no way to verify that for Kraft Caramel Bits, as they are not tested. So, is it possible that this candy contains trace amounts of gluten? 

Kraft Caramel Bits contain flavoring agents. It’s very much possible that these additives have naturally gluten-rich ingredients or have been exposed to gluten products, causing cross-contamination.

In fact, there is no reason to believe that Kraft only uses ingredients that are certified as gluten free. 

It is also possible that the candy itself has come into contact with small amounts of gluten because of shared facilities, and has been contaminated, leaving trace gluten in the candies.

Read More:  Is Powdered Milk Gluten-Free?

In any case, if these speculations are actually true, Kraft Caramel Bits probably contain a very small amount of gluten. 

Most people who get allergic reactions if they consume gluten content are known to enjoy Kraft Caramel Bits without any trouble.

However, there are also a few reports of people who have had allergic reactions, though it is hard to tell if these are caused by any of the other ingredients.

If you’re skeptical, just try the candy in small amounts to see how your body reacts to it before enjoying it regularly. 

Kraft Caramel Bits Ingredients

As mentioned before, Kraft is considered a reliable brand because it maintains clarity when it comes to the ingredients. So what do Kraft Caramel Bits contain?

The list of ingredients on the package of this candy says that your favorite Caramel Bits contain the following –  

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Skim milk
  • Whey
  • Palm oil
  • Salted butter (cream)
  • Salt
  • Soy lecithin
  • Flavors (natural and artificial)
  • Mono and diglycerides (Emulsifiers)

If you are allergic to soy or dairy, this product is not for you. For extra-conscious or severely sensitive eaters, flavoring agents may be another reason to avoid this candy.

As for counting your macros, you clearly cannot have them, as you can consume 26 grams of sugar just by eating five candies. 

Using Kraft Caramel Bits

Kraft Caramel Bits are a popular ingredient in baking and other methods of making desserts. If you’re a fan of Caramel Bits, you’ve probably already tried Kraft’s caramel square candies, as well.

The package mentions that a cup of Caramel Bits is equal to 24 caramel squares. Caramel Bits are easy to use in your recipes. You just have to melt them and add the smooth, creamy goodness to any dessert.  

While the butter and the milk together create a creamy texture, the sugary saltiness adds a beautiful balance of tastes. A fun thing about the candies has to be the stickiness and chewiness.

Kids, in particular, love Kraft Caramel Bit candies. But you probably know adults who like to enjoy the candies straight out of candy bags. Or maybe, you are that adult who loves the little morsels of caramels. 

Once melted, caramel bits can go into protein bars and caramel apples. You can use it to make caramel-pecan brownies or caramel popcorn or drizzle it on cakes, cookies, or pies.

The classic caramel flavor adds a new dimension of texture and taste to the dessert. It is a lovely snack for kids and adults, as you cut fruits like apples and bananas into pieces and serve them with a dip of melted caramel.

Is caramel gluten free in general?

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free

Kraft Caramel Bits is nothing but caramel. So, is caramel gluten free? Typically, the ingredients used in caramel are all gluten free, making caramel in all forms free from gluten, too.

You can whip up a fresh batch of caramel with sugar, water, milk, and salt. You can also add corn syrup and butter to the mix. 

So, there’s no place for gluten in all of this. If you want to make caramel at home, there should be no risk of consuming gluten, though you can always take the extra step to buy yourself only certified gluten free products to make the sweet liquid at home.

This will ensure that there is no cross-contamination.  

When you buy caramel cans from the market, it is essential to check the label for the certification and the list of ingredients to make sure that it is made with gluten free ingredients.

Of course, if it is certified as a gluten free product, it’s an official proof that the caramel is safe for your consumption. 

Gluten Free Caramel Candy Options

Did you know that besides Kraft Caramel Bits, there are many caramel candies out there that are safe for gluten-intolerant people? Some are certified as gluten free, which shows that they have less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Read More:  Is Almond Milk Gluten Free?

Others are marketed as gluten free candies, though they are not labeled as gluten free. All of these are made from ingredients free from gluten. Let’s check out the gluten free caramel candies:    

Tara’s

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free

The caramel candies from the house of Tara’s are made with a hundred-year-old recipe, with all-natural ingredients. These candies proudly flaunt the “gluten free” label on the jar, which means they are safe.

Cocomels

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free

Cocomels Coconut Milk Caramels come in different flavors, and they are all labeled gluten free. Not only that! These candies are also certified as vegan and organic and are the most mindfully crafted candies. 

Surcee’s Organic All 

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free

The Organic All Natural Candy from the house of Surcee Confections is another certified gluten free caramel candy. These bite-size chewy pieces of caramel are available in multiple fruity flavors. 

Mrs. Call’s

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free
via costco

A caramel candy made with natural ingredients, following a century-old recipe, Mrs. Call’s candies not only use gluten free ingredients but are also manufactured in facilities that have never touched gluten.

Tootsie’s Sugar Babies

Are Kraft Caramel Bits Gluten Free
via tootsi

Tootsie’s Sugar Babies are milk caramel candy bars that are covered in candy. It’s a popular candy available in movie theaters and to binge on at home. They are also certified gluten free caramel candies.

Apart from these five, there are plenty of other caramel candies that are considered safe for consumption by people with gluten allergy. The brands are as follows:

  • Werther’s Original, Hard Candies
  • Abdallah Caramels by Montgomery Industries
  • Dr. John’s Caramel Swirls
  • Milky Way Caramel Bar
  • Hershey’s Filled Kisses: Milk chocolate filled with caramel
  • Hershey’s Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate (except minis)

The good thing is that caramel candies are supposed to be gluten free. So manufacturers are now paying attention to ensure that their facilities are free from gluten, and the candies are free from trace gluten.

So your caramel candy options are now varied. Of course, it’s safest to look for a gluten free label.

So your caramel candy options are now varied. Of course, it’s safest to look for a gluten free label.

Making Caramel Bits at Home

Have you gotten into the habit of eliminating store-bought products from your life? Do you like to cook everything at home to ensure that you are completely safe?

You can also make caramel bits at home with an easy recipe. Let’s take a look at the Caramel Bits recipe to make the candy at home:

Ingredients:

  • Heavy whipping cream: 1 ½ cups
  • Granulated sugar: 1 cup 
  • Brown sugar: ⅔ cup 
  • Corn syrup: ⅓ cup 
  • Vanilla extract: 1 ½ tsp
  • Kosher salt: 1 ½ tsp
  • Butter: 1 tbsp

Instructions:

  • Start by lining an 8-inch square baking sheet with foil. Butter the foil lightly.
  • In a heavy-bottomed medium-size pan, put the cream and add sugar and corn syrup to it. Stir all of them well and turn the heat to medium-high.
  • Keep stirring constantly and bring the mix to a boil. Dip a heatproof brush in water and wash the sides of the saucepan in with the mixture. This will help remove all sugar crystals.
  • With a thermometer clamped to the side of the saucepan, continue boiling the mix over medium-high. Do not stir, but remember to swirl the pan and wash the sides once in a while. 
  • Once the mix reaches 250 F, remove the pan from the heat and add butter, vanilla extract, and salt, and stir. Pour it over the baking sheet and let it rest for at least two hours or until it’s firm.   
  • Next, using a pizza cutter or a sharp knife, cut the hardened caramel into small squares. 

Your caramel candies are ready. You can wrap them individually in wax paper so that they do not stick. You can store them in the refrigerator or at room temperature.

Read More:  Is Heineken Gluten Free - Info, Other Brands and More

They’ll stay good for a couple of weeks, but it’s likely that the kids in the house, both small and big ones, will devour them in just a few days. 

Gluten Free Recipes with Caramel Bits

We have already told you that caramel bits are a fantastic addition to desserts. They add a creamy, sugary touch to any dessert. Here’s a list of some dessert recipes in which you can use Caramel Bits. 

Gluten Free Chocolate Caramel Pecan Pie

A fun and delicious caramel dessert with lots of pecans – even the adults in the house will turn into children for a piece of this delicious pie. 

Ingredients:

  • Pecan pieces: 3 cups (divided)
  • Granulated sugar: ¼ cups
  • Butter (melted): ¼ cups
  • Caramel Bits: 14 oz
  • Whipping cream: ⅔ cups (divided)
  • Semi-sweet chocolate: 8 oz
  • Powdered sugar: ¼ cup
  • Vanilla extract: ½ tsp

Instructions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 F. 
  • Finely grind 2 cups of pecan pieces in a food processor or blender, using the pulsing action. 
  • In a bowl, mix the ground pecan with butter and granulated sugar.
  • In a 9-inch pie plate, press the mix down and bake for 12-15 minutes. Let the browned crust cool down. If it puffs up, press it down with a spoon. 
  • In a bowl, put the Caramel Bits and ⅓ cup of whipping cream, and microwave them on High for around 3 minutes to melt the caramels completely. Don’t forget to stir it every minute. 
  • Pour this over the crust. Chop the rest of the pecans and add them to the melted caramel.     
  • In a saucepan, add chocolate, ⅓ cup cream, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar. Cook this on low heat and continuously stir to melt the chocolate. 
  • Pour the chocolate mix over the pie to cover the top. Refrigerate for 2 hours or more.

It’s ready to be enjoyed as a moreish dessert! If you have any leftovers (which is unlikely), simply store them in the refrigerator!

Gluten free Caramel Apple Wedges

Apple and caramel make an incredibly delicious combo, and it’s super easy to make Caramel Apple Wedges. If you’ve been wondering how to add a healthy touch to desserts, here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • Granny Smith apples: 3 pieces 
  • Caramel Bits: 11 oz
  • Baker’s chocolate (white): 4 oz
  • Water: 2 tbsp
  • Toppings (sprinkles, nuts, or candy): 2 tbsp

Instructions:

  • Start by washing the apples, removing their core, and slicing the apples into 8 wedges. Insert sticks into each of these wedges very carefully. 
  • In a small stockpot, put the Caramel Bits and water together and heat until you have a smooth and creamy caramel.   
  • Line a baking tray with wax paper.
  • Dip the apple wedges into the melted caramel and place them on the baking tray.   
  • Microwave the chocolate for 30 seconds and continue for 10-second intervals until the chocolate is smoothly melted.  
  • Dip half the caramel-covered apple wedges into the melted chocolate and sprinkle the toppings. Put them on the baking sheet again and let the coatings harden.    

Your caramelly, chocolaty apple dessert is ready! Isn’t it easy, fun, and healthy?

Conclusion

So, is Kraft Caramel bits gluten free or not? Kraft products are generally trusted by people with gluten allergy and celiac disease, as the brand makes it a point to mention allergens, including gluten, on its products’ labels.

The list of ingredients used in the making of Kraft Caramel Bits does not include gluten grains or gluten-rich products.

You can assume that it is made with gluten free ingredients, and is safe for consumption if you’re not severely allergic. 

However, it is to be remembered that the product does not have a gluten free seal, which means that it is not possible to claim that it does not contain trace gluten.

Cross-contamination of the candy or its ingredients may lead to very small amounts of gluten in Caramel Bits. However, most people with gluten allergy or celiac disease have said that they do not fall ill after consuming Kraft Caramel Bits.

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.