- Redds Hard Apple Ale is a popular beer flavored brand
- Redds come in four different flavors to choose from
- The brand clearly brands its drinks as beers and not apple ciders even though the taste is apple
- Redds is NOT gluten free
Is Redds gluten free? NO. Redds apple flavored beers are not gluten free and are not safe to drink by people who avoid gluten or people with Celiac Disease.
Redds Hard Apple Ale gluten free confidence scale
Is Redds gluten free? More about the beer brand
The popular drink is made by Redd’s Brewing Company in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and is a sub company of the Molson Coors.
Redds Hard Apple is in fact a beer, and not an apple cider and it comes in four different flavors to choose from.
A lot of people mistakenly think the brand is apple cider because well…it tastes like apple cider, but the company says it is brewed and prepares just like any other beer only with added apple flavors infused into the beer to give it its nice taste.
Can I get Redds in bottles or draft?
YES, you can find Redds beer on draft spread around the US and also get it in bottles in many supermarkets and shops around the country.
What the difference between an ale or cider anyway?
As the company site states, they brew the beer to get its alcohol from fermented and melted grains, while cider gets its alcohol from fermented apple juice.
Redds Hard Apple flavors
If you still want to give this beer a try, here are the four flavors they offer:
- Hard Apple
- Hard Apple Peach
- Hard Apple Strawberry
- Hard Apple Black Cherry
And no, non of these flavors are gluten free – Sorry.
Redds Hard Apple Ale ingredients list
According to their website, these are the ingredients of the Hard Apple Ale
|Corn Syrup ( dextrose )||Critic Acid|
|Barely Malt||Natural flavor|
|Hopt Extract||Sodium Benzoate and potassium sorbate|
Is there such a thing as gluten free beer
Yes, there are many gluten free beers on the market and they usually taste just as good as regular beer. The difference is that instead of using wheat grains they use rice grains or similar which are naturally gluten free.
Redds Hard Apple Ale Alternatives
If you’re a cider fan or just an apple drinks taste person, here are 3 apple cider alternatives to Redds
- Angry Orchrad Hard Cider
Three apple tastes are combined here to create a very delicious apple cider
- Strongbow Gold Apple
This drinks has the GF symbol and it also combines a few different apple flavors to give it a full taste range.
- Stella Artois Cidre
Marked as GF as well, this is a cider from a well known brand so you can count of the production and flavor to be on point.
Frequently Asked Questions about Redds
YES. Redds Apple ale is a beer, and contains 5% alcohol which is inline with most beers on the market.
Beer is made mainly from grains and wheat, gluten is a type of protein inside wheat so most beers are not gluten free unless they are specifically made that way
If health is the top concern maybe beer in general should not be your top drink, Redds is a beer and beer in general has a high calorie count and is not considered all that healthy
If you wondered if Redds is gluten free, I hope this answered your question and helped you figure out if you can drink it or not. Just remember that for almost any brand today there is a gluten free alternative and this includes beer.
- Is Asahi Beer Gluten free
If you’re a fan of beer and more specifically Asahi, this post will tell you if it’s gluten free or not.
- Is Heineken Gluten Free
Probably the most popular beer brand in the world, but is it gluten free? Find out here
- Is Apple Cider Gluten Free
It’s not a beer, but it’s close enough so let’s find out if you can drink it or skip it