• Nerds are generally gluten free.
  • It does not include allergen ingredients.
  • However, the official website does not confirm the gluten free certificate.
  • Hence cross-contamination might occur.

Are Nerds Gluten free? Let’s face it! There’s probably nobody in the world who has not tasted Nerds candies and does not like them. All of us, including the children and adults, are fond of colorful flavored sweet candies. 

However, if you strictly follow a gluten free diet, you need to check the ingredients of candies before enjoying them. The recent surge of gluten sensitivity has restrained many people from enjoying many food items. 

In case you are unaware of the gluten status of Nerds, there are chances that you might face complications afterward. That is undoubtedly not what you want from a candy, right?

So, here in this article, we will be looking at the famous candy nerds to trace whether it is gluten-free. 

Let’s dig in!

Are Nerds Gluten free? An overview

Are Nerds Gluten free?

Nerds are one of the most popular candies. It is an American candy that made its debut in 1983. The Sunmark Corporation launched the product under the brand Willy Wonka Candy Company.

However, history does not continue to be the same now. As of now, Nerds are under the Ferrara Candy Company, a subsidiary of Fererro

From their early market to the present scenario, Nerds are undoubtedly on the top most demanded candies. However, they also have competitors like Pop Rocks, Candy Buttons, and many more. 

What are Nerds made of?

Nerds are primarily sugar-based candies. Their key ingredients include malic acid, sugar, dextrose, corn syrup, carnauba wax, and natural flavorings. 

There are a number of deliciously flavored nerds that we can quickly get in the market. The flavors include grapes, watermelon, strawberry, cherry, and more. Most people prefer these as Halloween candies. However, you can enjoy them anytime if you want to. 

The famous show ‘Unwrapped’ has shown and explained how nerds are made. From one of the factory workers, we have heard, 

Basically, we start off with a sugar crystal and we just keep coating it with more sugar.

We guess that more or less solves half your queries about nerds. They start with humongous-sized barrel-like containers of sugar crystals and coat them with more sugar.

Originally nerds were pure white in color. The color and flavorings are added in different dedicated barrels and packed in boxes.

Are Nerds Gluten free?

Now that we have had a little bit of knowledge about the candy itself, we can move to the crux of the discussion.

Can you enjoy nerds even with gluten sensitivity?

Nerds have been considered as Gluten free candies.

That is because they do not contain any ingredient that is a derivative of Gluten based product or the source itself. 

However, there is confusion about its gluten content. As mentioned on the official website, the ingredients do not indicate gluten presence. 

But they also do not use any Gluten free certificate to make it a safe option.

That means there is a fair possibility of cross-contamination. They have also mentioned that the candies are processed in a facility containing wheat and eggs. That is why many people do not feel Nerds be a safe option when it comes to gluten sensitivity. 

However, since they do not label any indication of the allergen, we might look at the edible candies (for people like us, gluten intolerant).

  • Nerds Big Chewy sour candy
  • Nerds Watermelon and Cherry
  • Frosty Nerds
  • Nerds Rainbow candy
  • Nerds Double Dipped Lemonade – Wild Cherry and Apple-Watermelon
  • Very Berry Nerds rope candy 

Gluten free candies that you can try

Since there is confusion about the Gluten factor of Nerds, you might be skeptical about consuming it. 

We understand your concern, and hence we have brought you a list of all the Gluten free candies that you may enjoy without any hesitation. 

#1 Boston Fruit Slices

Are Nerds Gluten free? Boston Fruit Slices

Boston fruit slices are one of the finest candies popular in the US. They clearly mentioned that their candies are free from allergens and Gluten on their website. According to the official website, they are

“A Gluten Free, Fat Free, Cholesterol Free snack!”

Boston Fruit Slices are available in several flavors such as blue-raspberry, grapes, lemon and lime, and many more. They also produce sugar-free candies that are appropriate for diabetes patients. So, you might enjoy these. 

#2 Jelly Belly

Another particular type you can enjoy is jelly belly candy beans. They are readily available candies and are considered one of the most popular options for snack and Halloween parties. On their official website, they have stated,

“We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch used in the manufacture of our jelly beans is cornstarch.”

That means you can comfortably enjoy any of the jelly belly variants you like. 

#3 Smarties

Smarties are another candy brand that you may enjoy if you are on a Gluten free diet. They have stated that their candies are absolutely safe for a gluten-sensitive diet. 

YES! Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten‑free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease. For more information, please visit our Gluten Free section!, they have stated. 


Are Nerds gluten and dairy-free?

  • As we can see from their website and product labels, the ingredients in nerds do not use any kind of allergen ( that includes Gluten) in nerds. Also, their products are dairy-free. 

Are Nerd Ropes gluten-free?

  • As per the ingredients, Nerd Ropes are Gluten free. However, they process the candies in a way where cross-contamination might make the candy unsafe for gluten-sensitive people. 

Are Nerds Safe for celiacs?

  • Since Nerds are said or claimed to be Gluten free, it is primarily safe for gluten intolerants. However, cross-contamination is a real issue. If someone is super sensitive to Gluten or is afflicted with celiac disease, it is better to avoid it since they do not clearly specify the gluten free certificate. 


We hope that you have got your answer regarding gluten presence in Nerds from the above article. On a superficial level, Nerds are okay to enjoy. But if there is a severe condition involved, it is better to avoid the candy. Instead, you can pick any candy from the gluten free list that we have provided. 

More Posts for You: