Are Jack in the Box Tacos Gluten Free? Info and Menu

Hey there, are you a Mexican cuisine lover? If you are so, then Jack in The Box tacos must be on your bucket list. Along with burritos and Tostadas, tacos have also created a special place in many people’s hearts. 

However, Gluten intolerant people like us are the focal point of concern. Dining out or fine dining becomes a massive problem if we do not know the gluten content in the dish. And to be honest, it is not possible to ask the manager or the chef every time about the ingredients used. 

Does that mean eating out is prohibited for gluten-sensitive people?

Wait, not so fast. We have come up with a solution. Here, in this article, we will be tracing if the tacos of Jack in The Box are Gluten free. Also, we will be providing a full-length list of Gluten free dishes on their menu. 

Are you excited? Let’s dive in.

Are Jack in the Box Tacos Gluten Free? History: Jack in the Box

Are Jack in the Box Tacos Gluten Free?

Jack in the Box is an American fast-food restaurant established in 1951, February 21st. Robert Oscar Peterson founded the restaurant chain.

 Jack in the Box has its headquarters in San Diego, California. Since its debut in the market, it has created an enormous fan base worldwide. Currently, it is serving in over 2200 locations. The chain primarily serves on the western coast of the US. 

The locations include  Dallas-Fort WorthSan AntonioSt. Louis, El Paso, and many more. The organization previously operated the Qdoba Mexican Grill chain until Apollo Global Management purchased the chain in December 2017.

This restaurant chain is famous for its variety of food items. The menu includes hamburgers, cheeseburgers, french fries, and many more. And if you are a Mexican dish lover, you are bound to be impressed. They are also pretty famous among foodies. 

Read More:  Is Nutella Gluten Free. Facts and Popular Alternatives

What are Tacos?

Taco is one of the staple Mexican cuisines popular among kitchen enthusiasts and foodies. The word taco can be traced back to Spain. However, the culinary sensation that the word stands for presently has survived from Mexico. The Mexican silver miners used a ‘plug’ consisting of the paper wrapper and gunpowder filling. From that, the word Taco has entered the kitchen.

The dish is a small-sized tortilla. The tortilla can either be made of corn or wheat. Different fillings are used to spice the tortilla, which is then folded. Traditionally people eat tacos with their hands. 

Tacos can have a variety of fillings. This entirely depends upon the chef’s choice. Some of the common fillings you may spot are vegetables ( like lettuce, tomatoes, onion), cheese, corn, beans, pork, chicken, beef, seafood, and many more. For spicing the tacos a little more, some food junctions use salsa, guacamole, chilies, and sour cream as condiments. 

You may find similarities between burritos and tacos; Burrito is the bigger version, and tacos are miniature forms. 

Are Jack in the Box Tacos Gluten Free?

Are Jack in the Box Tacos Gluten Free?
Source

Now, let us face reality. You can not make tacos without wheat, right? However, some places are spotted using corn-made tortillas. 

But does Jack in the Box some under that list?

The straight answer is NO! They are not!

Honestly, we hate being the bad news bearer. But if you are Gluten intolerant or strictly following a Gluten free diet, tacos from Jack in the Box are not ideal for you.

Apart from all the spices and condiments, the tacos have wheat flour. That is a strict no-no for you if you are a celiac patient or highly sensitive to Gluten. In addition, some of the restaurant’s tacos are traced to contain other allergens like soy protein, eggs, and tree nuts. 

So, we conclude that Jack in the Box tacos is not going on your plate. 

Read More:  Are Ladyfingers Gluten Free. Gluten Free Ladyfingers Recipes, Brands and More

Jack in the Box Gluten Free Options

Undoubtedly, Jack in the Box tacos is not suitable for you. But they have multiple other options in their list that you can try. 

You can understand that it is never possible to ask the chef or the manager of the restaurant about the ingredients repeatedly. That is why we are here to give you a broad idea about the gluten free options of the place. 

You can try at Jack in the Box are as follows:

Dishes:

  • Grilled Chicken Salad with Julienne Chicken
  • Chicken Club Salad with Julienne Chicken
  • Grilled Chicken Salad
  • Southwest Chicken Salad with Julienne Chicken
  • Bacon Cheddar Fries
  • Egg Roll

Sides:

  • Chiquita® Apple Bites with caramel
  • Hash Brown Sticks

Salad dressings:

  • Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Spicy Corn Sticks
  • Lite Ranch Dressing
  • Hearty Breakfast Bowl
  • Creamy Southwest Dressing

Source

Drinks and shakes:

  • Barqs® Root Beer 
  • Black Iced Coffee
  • Coca-Cola® Fuze Iced Tea 
  • Coffee, High Mountain Arabica (Regular & Decaf)
  • Gold Peak® Classic Blend Iced Tea
  • Salted Caramel Mocha Creamer
  • Sweet Cream Iced Coffee, Mocha
  • Sweet Cream Iced Coffee, Caramel
  • Sweet Cream Iced Coffee, Vanilla
  • Vanilla Shake with Whipped Topping
  • Blackberry Shake with Whipped Topping
  • Strawberry Shake with Whipped Topping

Source

Dipping sauce:

  • Buttermilk House Dipping Sauce
  • Barbecue Dipping Sauce
  • Frank’s® RedHot® Buffalo Dipping Sauce
  • Creamy Avocado Lime Dipping Sauce
  • Jack’s Mystery Dipping Sauce
  • Frank’s® RedHot® Buffalo Dipping Sauce
  • Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce 
  • Jack’s Mystery Dipping Sauce
  • Taco Sauce Dipping Sauce
  • Sweet N’ Sour Dipping Sauce 

Source

Conclusion

So, you must have concluded that if you are Gluten intolerant, you must not get your hands on Jack in Box tacos. This is because all of the taco varieties contain wheat flour, which is the primary source of Gluten. 

However, they have provided an extensive menu for people like us. You can order any of the gluten-free dishes freely. After contacting the restaurant and gathering information from many sources, we have presented the list of the premium gluten free cuisines that you can enjoy in Jack in the Box. 

Read More:  Is Ricotta Cheese Gluten Free - What is it and Recipes

What are you waiting for? Start preparing and dine out today!

More Posts for You:

You May Also Like

mm

About the Author: Johnny

I am the senior editor and writer of Gluten Free Heroes, before that, I wrote for various well established online magazines about food and health. I love working out, traveling and eating healthy.